We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is an oddly located hotel, which is fine for a conference, but I cannot imagine that it would be a place to choose for a holiday. It is located right next to the M6 and accessible through the Charnock Richard services - which, by the way, is the place to go to get a decent cup of coffee, since the hotel coffee was not good. The hotel buildings form a small "campus" and enable everyone present for the conference to be on one site - but the mock-Mexican village look, combined with a hall that claims to be good for "mediaeval" banquets and the disused Camelot theme park next door, makes for a somewhat dislocating experience.

A disabled friend - also attending the conference - is dependent on an electric mobility scooter and had to be conducted some considerable distance around the buildings to get to the supposedly disability friendly accommodation in one of the chalets. There she found that the electric plugs were behind a wardrobe, which had an armchair in front of it. There was no stool in the shower, and no shelter for the overnight storage of her scooter, which is not weather-proof. She had to ask for help to access the plugs and to find a stool for the shower. She should not have had to do this!

My wife and I had a room in the main hotel block. The room was fine, comfortable and clean. The main lobby and circulating areas of the hotel were pleasant and spacious, but on two levels linked by stairs, so not accessible for those with mobility problems. The two floors of bedrooms were linked to the lower area of the lobby by a narrow (hardly wide enough for two people to pass each other) and steep staircase and by a small lift (which my dislike of enclosed spaces discouraged me from using).

The wifi was intermittent and could not be accessed everywhere in the building, despite claims to the contrary. The wifi in the conference hall went off part way through the weekend and I had to resort to using my BT wifi app to access a hotspot, which I assumed was located in the motorway service area next door to the hotel.

The staff, most of whom were young, were very friendly and helpful, but not skilled enough to make everything run as smoothly as it might.

The breakfasts were OK. The cooked breakfasts were reasonable, but the choice for vegetarians was very limited. The toaster was desperately slow, and tea and coffee were served by the cup rather than by giving each table or person a pot.

The dinners, which were part of our conference package, were fairly appalling. Badly cooked, carbohydrate heavy, no vegetables, no salad, no fruit. No chance of getting one's five-a-day! Of the lunches, which were provided at extra cost, the less said the better.

I would not choose this hotel if I were not staying there for a conference. It would certainly not be my choice for a holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbarnabasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your comments I will be taking all these comments on board hope to see you next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

A slightly surreal experience, this one. As previous reviewers have noted, the Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club is located next to a closed theme park called Camelot (the castle is still there as of April 2014) and backing onto a small industrial estate, all within earshot of the M6. There is definitely a hint of death about the place, though admittedly I was staying there right at the start of the season. You should also note that, despite the name here, it is no longer a Best Western but run by Lavender Hotels.

The 'village' accommodation is reasonably spacious, in chalets done up to look like a Mexican village, or at least someone's take on it. No doubt much better in the hotel proper, though the 'village' was an absolute steal at £52/night for rooms that would easily accommodate a family, not including breakfast. The pool was a standard leisure club type, hotel breakfast equally bog standard, though buffet style and plenty of it. I did not eat there in the evening.

Be warned that (allegedly) the aggregator websites like Hotels.com and Booking.com do not tell the hotel the most basic extra details about your booking, so there is no guarantee that any particular request you make will be honoured. And don't let the photo lull you into thinking there are nice woodland walks to be had: there aren't.

Basically, this place is best as a base for families with small children who want a pool and space to run about in: there is really nothing to see for miles around in this odd little corner of Lancashire that is not quite Blackpool, Preston, Bolton, Wigan or anywhere else.

Room Tip: Main hotel better than village, but priced accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

I am sorry that your stay wasn't to your satisfaction. I can assure that we are still part of Best Western as every Best Western Hotel is individually owned. I also apologise that you were disappointed with the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were so disappointed when we entered our run down chalet accommodation. Just not what you would expect from a Best Western.. The actual hotel rooms were much better. Afternoon tea took 35 minutes to arrive and was unappetising and the scones had run out. There was plenty of staff available but they lacked direction and any sense of urgency however they were friendly. I thought the breakfast was great with good quality food, a good choice and well managed service.

Room Tip: Avoid the chalet accommodation unless you are paying an extremely reasonable rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186356Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I have taken your comments into account and will be looking into all matters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are dated and tired. The main reception and bar area is nice as is the restaurant. Food is just ok. Nothing special. Pool area is good. Staff are very friendly and helpful. WIFI is useless. Was told it worked throughout the hotel and in all rooms and apparently it was checked by an engineer and he said it was fine. It didn't work in my room and in a number of other guests rooms! Everyone had to go down into the bar area to use the WIFI which was inconvenient. The lake outside with the ducks is lovely. If the rooms here are updated this would be a fantastic hotel!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Flyer1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay, we have now resolved the problems with the WIFI. We are currently in the process of refurbishing a lot of the rooms throughout the village complex, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here for the night before going to watch Millwall at Wigan. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Used the pool and suana which was nicve. Rooms could have been cleaner but overall a pleasent stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank MillwallSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again soon if Millwall play Wigan again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I had a spa day with a friend at Park Hall. She had bought it on TravelZoo as a birthday present for me. I was very impressed with the beauty salon and the therapists in there but was slighly less impressed with the spa facilities which I thought were somewhat tired and needed sprucing up. We opted to eat in the hotel bar for our lunch as the sandwiches in the leisure centre looked less than appealing, Overall, I would say the TravelZoo offer was good value at £65 for us both including the treatments and I paid a further £20 to upgrade my hot stones massage. The chalet accommodation looked somewhat unappealing, I have to say.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillibet12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Operations Manager at Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

I apologise that you were not completely satisfied with your visit. The village complex is currently being refurbished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.1 mi away
Shaw Hill Golf & Spa Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chorley South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
22.7 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Park Hall Road | Charnock Richard, Chorley PR7 5LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range: $57 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chorley Best Western
Best Western Chorley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing