We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright”
Review of TOP LOCK

TOP LOCK
Ranked #78 of 206 Restaurants in Chorley
Cuisines: Indian
Description: CAMRA listed REAL ALE PUb with Indian/English food - good selection of real cask ales a real gem of a place if you can find it next to leeds-liverpool canal lock moorings nice spot to drin koutside in summer also do special ice cream
Restaurant details
Description: CAMRA listed REAL ALE PUb with Indian/English food - good selection of real cask ales a real gem of a place if you can find it next to leeds-liverpool canal lock moorings nice spot to drin koutside in summer also do special ice cream
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Alright”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I went here on a sunday afternoon - around 1pm, was me and 2 other people. It was quite quiet - which is good as it is very small inside - we ordered some drinks and some food and took our seat - it only look like there was 2 members of staff.

After around 15/20 minute wait - our food came, I had a chicken burger and chips - it was very nice, one of us had a sunday dinner, which they said they enjoyed and the other had a pie - which said it tasted as if it had come out of a packet and microwaved.

The place itself could do with a bit of TLC - it looks run down.

The food was alright - I did notice about an hour later they had ran out of some of the food items on the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichellePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    45
    24
    7
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEWARE!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Landlord is a nutter and the place is a hovel. Even before we got in the pub the Landlord kicked off in the car park. Tried to scam us saying we hit a customers car. Turns out the beaten up shed of a car belonged to the so called chef. We nearly had to call the police.
Beware!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnSClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dirty Hovel”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a shame that this place is so disgusting. It's situated in a lovely location by the canal and stunning countryside, but the pub itself is grim. Your feet stick to the floor, the decor is ugly, dirty & dingy and there are absolutely no redeeming features, other than I hear the beer is good, but as I don't drink beer I wouldn't know. The ageing male wearing a rugby top and a baseball cap, that I assume is the Landlord, is the most unwelcoming, dour, obnoxious person I have ever come across working in the public sector. There are some fantastic, cosy welcoming countryside pubs, but sadly this is not one of them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Crista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mens Ale house”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you like a good glass of wine and a lovely homey interior then this place is not for you. If on the other hand you're a beer swilling bloke who likes real ale and doesn't care whether your partners tastes are catered for then this is the place for you.!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank taytie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful Walk”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The one mile walk, along the canal bank, from Malthouse Farm to the Top Lock is one of the nicest walks imaginable. A succession of locks, most with a canal boat entering or leaving, and a beautiful Pub, to refresh yourself, at Top lock

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank elptx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TOP LOCK also viewed

 
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to TOP LOCK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing