We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malthouse Farm
Nearby Hotels
$64
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Chorley South Hotel(Chorley)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Chorley North Hotel(Chorley)(Great Value!)
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Preston Chorley(Clayton le Woods)
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland(Leyland)(Great Value!)
$69
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brook House Hotel(Clayton le Woods)
$59
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
22
17
5
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
17
5
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 51 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Business lunch at The Malthouse, great care and attention throughout. Clarity over tabs is probably needed, but all in all a really great experience. Allowed us to work in restaurant so laptop could be plugged in. kept the coffees flowing throughout. We came in next day also and have to say (knowing chef and brewer through its many direction changes) the menu was spot on! Really good stuff!
Happy to recommend!

Thanks for a great couple of visits.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hospitalityisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Malthouse Farm is a Premier Inn with the Malthouse Farm pub next door. From outside all the building are well kept and tidy. There are plenty of parking spaces. Have stayed in a few Premier Inns before and the standard of this one is no exception. We found the staff were friendly, polite and efficient. The room and bathroom were both tidy and clean. The supersize bed was the best feature, could easily fit three people, very comfy. The only down side was the old fashioned TV. The other Premier Inns I stayed in before all had LCD TVs, so seeing this out dated TV was a surprise.
If you like your room very warm, especially in Winter, then you will be disappointed as the highest temp you can set is 23c, but the room still felt cold. And the heating is on a timer, so after certain period of time it will reset to a lower temperature. And there is no heating in the bathroom, it felt even colder in winter, a heated towel rail would be nice. The extractor fan was a bit noisy.

We had a late lunch at the Malthouse farm pub next door. At 3pm it was deserted. The waitress was polite and efficient. We didn’t have to wait long for our food. It was very well prepared, tasty and the main courses were really piping hot. The cooking standard of our main courses were very good, the vegetables were still crunchy. Decent portions and good value for money. one criticism was that the pie pastry was a bit too thick.

The only disappointment was the Full English breakfast. There was no hot food counter so the tomatoes, beans, scramble eggs, fried eggs, bacon and sausages were kept in trays, heated by candle lighters. So the food was only luke warm. In addition the sausages were dry and of poor quality, the scramble eggs were all congealed together rather than fluffy and light.
Costing over £8 each, it’s not really good value for money. Nobody wants a cold English breakfast. Hopefully they will improve on this.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldeneye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went on Saturday on special steak day - good atmosphere - very good service from Beth who knew her products - excellent value - food fine but not spectacular but well within offer expectations - would certainly go again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here on a family visit, really clean and comfortable. Great size room for a family of four. The pub next door served a good breakfast, cant be faulted £45 B&B. Would recommend and stay again. Great location to the motorway (couldn't hear it though).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miacattiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Malthouse is a Premier Inn so you sort of know what you are getting. I not only stay here I also put my visiting guests with work in this hotel as I find it constantly outstanding. The staff are extremely helpful, and when my foreign visitors have stayed, where English is not always fluent the have gone out of their way to help and make sure they know where everything is.

I have found that the staff here really are excellent. Additionally having stayed here myself the room I had was very specious although typical of a Premier Inn (And I don’t mean this in a derogatory way, but you do know what standard you get) The room was very comfortable, with lovely views over the canal and countryside. The hotel attached where food is available is again a little gem, warm and welcoming and really lovely food. I would highly recommend this hotel for business travel or just as a getaway or stop over.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews