We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So inconsistent!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bobbin Mill

Bobbin Mill
Ranked #117 of 199 Restaurants in Chorley
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So inconsistent!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have eaten here many times and often get very good food and good service though the choice of beer is limited. But having tried to eat there last week we are unlikely to visit again. We arrived just before 2pm when we thought it would be less busy, but twenty minutes later had to attract the attention of a waitress who was obviously under pressure. She took our order and as we were not in a hurry did not chase things up but at 3pm the waitress returned to ask for our order again as it was not in the system. We promptly left. An polite email to the manager has not received a reply almost a week later. A simple apology and an explanation was all that was needed to maintain customer relations. Fortunately there are many good eating places in the area so we do not have to go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    105
    89
    72
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Similar to the Fieldfare, its sister restaurant, but i find it better for food , drink and atmosphere

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MPaulBamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Atmosphere, Lovely Staff and Great food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Visited with friends over the bank holiday weekend and really enjoyed the atmosphere. The food was excellent, I had the chicken burger, the presentation and taste was superb but took a little longer than expected but was worth the wait. We were served by the young dark haired manager who was very welcoming and we felt really looked after and we would definitely come again. We have been previously (about 6 months ago) when visiting family in Preston and found the service very average but since then things have definitely got better! We will be back again soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingbean1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My partner & i went for a lunch one saturday afternoon as we live locally.
We both opted for the build your own burger as they looked immense on the photos.
Looks can be deceiving!!
The burger was not very big at all - and for over £9 i was expecting a lot more.
At GBK you get a massive burger for that price!
It all looked very nice on a wooden board and the chips came in a small bucket.
The bun was standard.
This is a marstons pub and not 2 miles away is the fieldfare which is also a marstons pub.
I would choose the fieldfare every time over the bobbin mill because everything is 2-4-1 (better value for money) and the burgers are huge & tastier!
Waiter was very nice & friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“would not recommend a visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

do not waste your money sent 3 out of 4 meals back as cold or undercooked. Even one of the meals of chicken was not cooked properly. Meals were replaced but this had put us off by then. No omplimentary drinks ordered while we waited. ALSO the rplacement meals came in dribs and drabs so did not eat together
give it a miss

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobbin Mill also viewed

Chorley, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 
Chorley, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to Bobbin Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing