We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay And Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hartwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Chorley B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with a group of friends. Great Hotel with a cracking restaurant on hand. Ok so maybe the food is not Michelin rated but none the less was good and reasonably priced. Rooms were big enough and clean and quiet enough to get a decent nights kip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrygilfillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hartwood from 22nd to 26th of August and was pleasantly surprised. The room rate was comparable with others in the area. The room was spotless and cleaned daily by the attentative housekeeper who catered for all a guests' needs. The rooms are situated in a lodge adjacent to the main building but that did not detract from the surroundings and only enhanced my stay. The food was good, honest pub/restaurant food, properly cooked and served by polite and cheerful staff. The bar staff were also polite and helpful. There is not a lot to do in Chorley but it made for a nice, restful stay and I will, no doubt returning.

Room Tip: Rooms are all equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Hartwood Hall back in May 2013. We booked this hotel from memory having visited there many years ago when it was in private ownership. What a shock we got on arrival. We remembered it as a charming hotel with every comfort and attention to detail. What we got this time was a very tired, sad old room that was extremely tight on space. The bathroom was dreadful – just a shower stall, wash basin and toilet. Perfectly adequate you may say. That is until you look up and see the cobwebs and mould – yuk! We tolerated this. What really made us regret booking in here was the noise that came from the room next door. A young chap had booked himself in that evening only to be joined by two young ladies later in the night. They spent the whole night coming and going from the room with accompanying banging doors. Who could we tell? No one. There is not a 24 hour reception here! Take our advice – drive straight by this hotel for another mile and use another big name hotel near the canal – much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manj11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Thought this was pretty OK for the money. Quite a spacious room for a single . Handy to be able to get food and drink at the pub. As no one had said I wanted breakfast, but I only wanted toast and coffee, they didn't charge, which I thought was decent off them. Decor a bit tired, but never mind. Only real complaint was the window barely opened and the waether was really hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a stop off on our way to Penrith to a christening. We chose the area as my partner had family that we were planning to visit whilst here.

The room was large enough, had a TV and ample bathroom however the windows didn't open very far and the room was stifling. The fan provided did absolutely nothing and to add to having to sleep on two single mattresses pushed together it didn't add to a great night's sleep.

However for £35 for the night I can't complain too much. It isn't somewhere to stay for extended periods, it is only suitable for a weekend at best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shroom90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My room was a single and as such of generous proportions. There was a well stocked tea tray and the room was well - equipped and comfortable. Booking in is in the pub where I received a warm and efficient welcome. The bed linen and towels were crisp and clean and the ensuite included a hot powerful shower although the cubicle was cramped. On the minus side décor and furniture looked a little tired and there is a fair bit of traffic noise from the busy road system nearby. I'm a light sleeper though and others might be fine. Just my luck to be next door to an Olypic standard snorer, who I thought at once stage was in the room such was the level of volume! Ear plugs helped deal with both the traffic noise and snoring. As I said overall good value for money and other rooms might have been quieter.

Room Tip: If you're approaching from M62 or Chorley side drive down to roundabout adjacent to hotel, go ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave538football
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked the room at short notice at a very reasonable price (£39). We had a double king size bed. The room itself was clean and tidy but did smell a little musty. As mentioned on a previous review the heating wasn't very effective. TV had a very good selection of channels. The only criticism had was the shower cubical. It just had a shower curtain and allowed the water to escape and cover the bathroom floor with water. Apart from that, for the price I was charged, I had no complaints. However at their normal price against a premier inn it was a little tired and I would stay at a premier inn for the same price with no flooded bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chorley hotels
1.2 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
3.5 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
4.1 mi away
Parr Hall Farm
Parr Hall Farm
#2 of 12 in Chorley
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Inglewood Boutique B & B
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chorley North Hotel
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwood Hall Hotel

Address: Preston Road, Chorley PR6 7AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chorley
Price Range: $55 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartwood Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hartwood Hall is a quaint hotel situated on the outskirts of Chorley, set back in its own rustic building. Historical places of interest such as Astley Hall are minutes away from the hotel. Chorley also has its very own amusement park, and is home to the largest Mormon Temple in the UK. The hotel has 10 individually styled en-suite bedrooms, some of which retain period features such as wooden beams. All rooms are designed to accommodate both business and leisure guests, and all come equipped with flat screen digital TV’s, Work desk with unlimited Free WIFI, Iron and Ironing boards, and hairdryers. The hotel is accessed from the M61, and is en route to Preston and Bolton which are approximately 20 minutes drive via the motorway networks. The hotel is adjacent to a fully licensed restaurant and bar, where a wide range of meals are on offer throughout the day and evening, from a great value menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hartwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing