We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castleton Hotel

The Castleton Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Castleton Hotel to your Saves list
The Castleton Hotel
1128 Manchester Road, Castleton, Rochdale OL11 2XX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Castleton B&B and Inns
great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I did not stay here but I had a lovely meal. It was my nannies favourite place to eat. I came for a 3 course meal with my family,it was beautiful,nice and hot and plenty of it,the service was amazing,polite and no one was pushy which was nice. Soup,turkey dinner and a lovely dessert we do not have in Norfolk,unfortunately. Highly recommend a meal here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank simmo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I haven't been to The Castleton Hotel to stay but felt i had to let people know what a fantastic restaurant it has.
This is our 4th year for going now as a group of 12-14 people, we go for our christmas get together, They do a fantastic christmas menu which consists of 3 course, coffee mints, chocolate and a mince pie for £25.95
There is a choice of 4 starters, 4 mains (vegetarians catered for also) and then a fantastic sweet trolley!!
Michelle and all the staff are excellent and very attentive, proper silver service is also done by the staff.
A real happy atmosphere is felt. Good quality crackers are provided too!! It is definately worth a visit Looking forward to next year now!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyPick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

A nice hotel run by friendly people. If you are in Rochdale it is an excellent base for the countryside and Manchester.
We have stayed there at least half a dozen times and have been well looked after. The breakfast alone will set you up for the day and evening meals are excellent. I had one Friday taken a fancy to traditional fish and chips and although not on the menu the head waiter and chef between them magicked up an excellent sea bream in the lightest crispiest batter I have ever eaten.
My wife and I both recommend a stay at the Castleton if you are in Rochdale.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with friends in order to attend a party at the nearby golf club. It was very comfortable and warm. Met by a bit of a grumpy foreign gentleman who had very little to say. All other staff very pleasant and helpful with local information. Nice bar and food. We had the Xmas menu in the hotel for dinner. A bit mean with the vegetables but excellent beef. Nice dessert trolley. Breakfast very good with very tasty bacon and nice fruit with black,rasp and strawberries in the bowl. Room ok couldn't swing a cat in the bathroom but for the price of £65 a good experience.
Nice garden centre 300 yards down the road good for a walk after a long journey. Bus stop outside hotel number 17 takes you into the centre of Manchester for £2.50 return,runs every 6 mins even on a sunday.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the hotel whilst we where in the annex and they said our room was better numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very pleasant bedroom- room number 2 , with an excellent bathroom .

A bit of noise from the room next door when they ran the tap, but nothing too awful.

Lounge bar was very small, but comfortable, and the restaurant likewise.

Dinner was very good indeed. Breakfast was good, slightly spoiled for me by cheap sausages which I had one taste of and then left alone.

All of the staff were extremely pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redmike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacup
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We cannot praise Michelle and her staff at the Castleton Hotel highly enough. It was the perfect venue for our wedding reception, consisting of 23 guests. Michelle was attentive to every detail right from the start and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent as was the service. The cost for the Reception was very reasonable, and so were the prices for drinks at the bar. Would most definitely recommend to anyone looking for a quality venue at a good price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Only stayed the 1 night,met at reception by very helpfull staff,shown up to our room which was a really good size,very modern looking with an excellent and spotless bathroom.
The room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.
Didnt have a meal as we were off to a concert but the hotel was certainly full while we were having a drink which were reasonably priced.
Very helpfull staff again in ordering us a taxi and best ways to and from Heaton Park.
Breakfast was also very good,plenty and well cooked.
All in all had a good nights stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAND7442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
1.7 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castleton Hotel

Address: 1128 Manchester Road, Castleton, Rochdale OL11 2XX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Castleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing