We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosehill House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Noisy, poor value for money”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Evening meal was very good. However the breakfast was spoilt being dried up, and almost thrown at us as we were being rushed by a very miserable lady member of staff who wanted to pack things away. Sadly she was no better the 2nd morning . We unfortunately stayed two nights, having very little sleep on both occasions. We did get moved the 1st night at 2.30am due to the noise from the suite above room 28 & the constant hum from a freezer against an ajoining room. The 2nd night woken at approx 4am by shouting, someone who couldnt find the F******g door for several minutes. Also members of staff recycling/moving bottles about outside in the early hours. The beds in both rooms very soft, not at all comfortable. We had a 300 mile drive home afterwards totally shattered. Would we stay here again ..... I really dont think so.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank PortsmouthFixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    119
    34
    15
    16
See reviews for
73
136
25
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for two nights BB,Room 29,A large comfy room with a garden view.Very nice bathroom with yes a BATH,The weather was vey cold with frost n snow but was never cold in the hotel.
As in previous reviews found lots of quirky features,the most amusing were the manakins.
Breakfast was fantastic freshly cooked and plentyful
All the staff were briliant ,great service with a smile,and happy to see you ,
Defo going back to this hotel again,
Well Done Rosehill

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfredStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed in Burnley to visit relatives. We searched around the few available hotels and Rosehill House ticked all of the boxes of carparking, internet and breakfast included.

The weather wasn't kind for our couple of days in the North East but Rosehill House provided us with a quirky and comfortable refuge.

We booked a deluxe room and it was huge! Comfy bed and nice bathroom. The hotel had once been a private home and by conicidence my aunt (who came for dinner) had visited the house when she was a teenager.

The restaurant was terrific. We ate dinner both nights and we were very impressed with our meals. As I said, breakfast was included and was also great. My parents are from Burnley and Nelson so I'm used to the 'northern manner'. Others might find the wait staff a bit brusque.

The hotel has a gigantic bar (with a crazy Italianate ceiling) where we had a number of drinks each night and it was also where the internet signal was best. Actually got no signal in our room.

The highlight of our stay was under the hotel - the billiard room in the basement complete with full size billiard table. It was fantastic, although both of us were hopeless.

We had a long chat to the lovely owner and was sad to hear her say that business in the north east had been so badly affected by the GFC. Luckily their business bookings were slowly picking up. Would be a loss to the town if something so cool as Rosehill House didn't survive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland. Co. Durham
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Clearly an old building, this hotel retains many of its Victorian charm, and some os its drawbacks, i.e. no lift. Adequate parking space in a leafy suburban setting. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Service was attentive and the food more than acceptable. A comfortable single bedroom provided all of the facilities needed for a one night stay. If modernity is what is sought then this hotel will not suit the bill. However, if a convenient glimpse into the splendours of the past is what you're after then the Rosehill fits the bill. Adequate and suitably priced, I would consider returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcap68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2010

have stayed at this hotel a lot for business purposes, always been really well looked after and have never failed to be impressed by the dining experience - rosehill house is a proper british hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewhunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I really like this place. It has character, its clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, the food is generous and tasty. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed here for a family wedding. Beautiful, characterful old building, very shabby chic. Room was very nice and the bed comfortable, even if the blinds didn't work!

Staff on the whole were friendly and helpful, but there were a few problems. Firstly, one of our party's (the groom's father in fact) internet booking did not appear to have been received, even though he'd had it confirmed. As there were no rooms available this could have been a real problem, but luckily another family member had a double to himself so he was able to share. My elderly mother in laws room - specifically asked for a ground floor room due to mobility problems - was not suitable due to the bed being so low she would never have been able to get out of it! This was eventually sorted by various room swaps within the family.....

Secondly, breakfast on a Sunday morning after a wedding do finishing at 9.30 am? Yes, on the dot! We were admittedly a little tardy getting down to breakfast, but we did arrive at 9.28, but by the time a staff member got to us it was 9.32 and we were informed that breakfast had finished! After a few protests we were eventually offered bacon and eggs, but the full english could not be done. It was nice when it arrived, but we had to ask 3 times for tea, and then again for cups, and for cutlery. The whole thing just felt very disorganised and disjointed, which is a shame as it should be so easy to get right.

Having said all that, we did enjoy the wedding and our stay, but with just a little effort and organisation this place could be near perfect!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillytub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
2.6 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
4.4 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Burnley
Travelodge Burnley
#6 of 6 in Burnley
135 reviews
8.6 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
260 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehill House Hotel

Property: Rosehill House Hotel
Address: Rosehill Ave, Burnley BB11 2PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosehill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country house hotel and yet only 1km from the town center. Originally a mill owners mansion, many of the elaborate features of the original architecture have been retained. All bedrooms have been refurbished to a high standard and include 14 satellite TV channels including movies, sport and foreign languages. Wireless internet connection is provided free of charge and a snooker room is available for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Rosehill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosehill Hotel Burnley
Rosehill House Hotel Burnley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing