We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, good value, fabulous building, a bit hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosehill House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2009

we stayed for 2 nights - the double room was spacious, and clean, ditto the bathroom, My only whinge would be that it was not very well lit. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The restaurant served plain food, well cooked. The building is grade 2 listed and the public rooms are awesome - particularly the ceilings.
The hotel is licensed for weddings - one happened while we were there! It did not interfere with us.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootsmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 358 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

Traveled from USA and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Hotel is "shabby chic". Everything was clean and welcoming. Staff extremely friendly and couldn't do enough to assist in making the stay pleasant. Chef prepared food as requested (special diet) and it was perfect. Will definitely stay here on my next visit to my "home town". Hadn't been to Burnley in over 35 years (usually visit south coast when in UK) and Rosehill House made my visit memorable and pleasant. Staff member, Lisa deserves special recognition for her attentiveness to detail and exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coopscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We were coming from Italy and we were passing on our way to Scotland. We stopped at our daughter's shop near Burnley and found this hotel on the internet. When we saw it and checked in room 27, with the extra room and the four poster, my wife fell madly in love with it ( and me once again). Seriously, the place was excellent, and so was the food in the Dugdale restaurant. We only stayed for a night but , before leaving, we booked the same room for the way back the following week. I would recommend it to anyone and have already done so, whether you are on in years like us or a young couple.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Proff-Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

I've stayed in Rosehill House a few times whilst visting family. I have also tried several other local hotels but this blows them out of the water in terms of value, cleanliness, the size and quality of the rooms and overall ambience.

The hotel is located in a quiet area a short(ish) walk or drive from the town centre. The building has a wonderful sense of grandeur especially in the public areas such as the restaurant and lounges. The rooms are all very clean and well furnished with very comfortable beds. The ensuite bathrooms are also clean with modern fittings.

The staff are always very friendly and helpful and willing to sort out an issue immediately.

The Dugdales restaurant is well worth a visit even if you're not staying in the hotel as the food, which is often locally sourced, is excellent and plentiful. I have noticed the restaurant being very quiet sometimes which is a shame.

My only little quibble is that there's always one really minor things that isn't right such as the newspaper not arriving, the tea or cofffee not being replenished in the room and the free toiletries are not of the same standard as most non-budget hotels these days but these really are only minor and tolerable issues unlike other problems I've had in other Burnley hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lone-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Having stayed at several hotels in the area, the Rosehill House is definitely one we will book again. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Room was clean and very comfortable - and also very quiet as the hotel is located out of the town (although within walking distance if you are reasonably fit). Had two evening restauarant meals - one excellent, the other ok. Breakfast was vey good on both mornings. Overall, I was very please we found this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank comeonburnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

My wife & I have just had a 3 day stay at this hotel. We found this place via the Internet. When we arrived, we were 1 hour late and did not get there until 8.00 PM in the evening. This was no problem at reception and we were checked in very effeciently. The lady was really keen for us to have a good stay and this showed in her manner towards us. Our room ( a standard double) was very roomy and the en suite was huge as well. It was all very clean and tidy.
Breakfast was fantastic. Personal service with our orders taken by cheerful staff and the hot food arrived on hot plates freshly cooked. We were very impressed. Likewise, when we used the bar, the same service applied. I would stay again at Rosehill and can fully recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozziex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

Checked in here for one night only. Lovely staff, great place and really charming rooms. Could have stayed here for much longer.

Value for money was superb considering the size of the rooms. I was in room 27 which had a separate lounge, bathroom and bedroom. 2 TVs, 2 sofas, dining table and a lovely 4 poster bed.

The hotel's dining room, lobby and bar were very nice. The whole place had a great charm to it. Funny little ornaments and trinkets all over the place.

The food in the restaurant was of very good quality too, tasty and came piping hot!

We need more places like this in the UK. Very highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank funkysi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
4.4 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Burnley
Travelodge Burnley
#6 of 6 in Burnley
144 reviews
8.8 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
295 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosehill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosehill House Hotel

Address: Rosehill Avenue, Burnley BB11 2PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range: $63 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosehill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country house hotel and yet only 1km from the town center. Originally a mill owners mansion, many of the elaborate features of the original architecture have been retained. All bedrooms have been refurbished to a high standard and include 14 satellite TV channels including movies, sport and foreign languages. Wireless internet connection is provided free of charge and a snooker room is available for residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Rosehill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosehill Hotel Burnley
Rosehill House Hotel Burnley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing