We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, good food, nice beer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, good food, nice beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Country House hotel is located in the middle of lovely countryside. My bedroom was in a separate block, but was adequate - comfortable but not overly luxurious. The separation could put some people off.

In the main hotel, the bar/restaurant was very nice with great views. The food was delicious, really good real ale and very fireindly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I would like to thank you for leaving a review on trip advisor. I am pleased to read your excellent comments about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed the cask ales and our staff were helpful and attentive. Please come back and see us again soon

Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    243
    78
    21
    11
See reviews for
166
319
19
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

On 15th June 2013 my daughter Charlotte and her fiance Darren were married at your hotel, we arrived on Friday 14th and were made welcome straight away.All my family were treated with respect and kindness your staff went out of their way to please, my mother was struggling with the stairs so we asked if you could move her and there was no hesitation in moving her to the anexe. On the morning of the wedding we had a slight hitch with the flowers (not hotel florist) and the staff were there to help one lady in particular (unfortunately i didnt get her name) she got us numbers for local florists and we got sorted within the hour,our stay was perfect from start to finish and the wedding ceremony and celebrations were second to none and me and my family wish to thank all the staff at THE HIGHER TRAPP for all their hard work

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is lovely to read your comments about your daughters wedding. I am pleased our staff were able to assist with moving rooms and sorting out the issues with your florist. Please do come back and see us again.

Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Me and my wife got married at the Higher Trapp Saturday 15th June 2013. On visiting venues back in 2011, we instantly fell in love with this hotel, largely due to the warmth of the staff, the tranquility of the gardens, and the lovely traditional decor internally.

We absolutely made the correct decision. The hotel made our day perfect in every single way. The food was unbelievable, and in particular the hotel catered towards allergy suffers with vigour and quality expertise.

Our wedding planner was Jamie - on behalf of my wife and I, I would like to simply say thank you - you did a fantastic job, from the start of the day to the end I felt relaxed, comfortable, and knew every single stage that was about to come. You ran around and worked so hard, as did all of the staff in the hotel for our special day, everybodies attitudes were so positive.

The hotel was clean, and service was impeccable. The grounds are gorgeous, and we just cannot wait to see the pictures. Jamie and his team set the ceremony room, the wedding breakfast area, and the evening area so beautifully. We really could not have asked for better.

We fully booked the hotel with guests from our wedding, and I can honestly tell you that every single guest fed back to me how much they enjoyed their staff. How happy they were with the rooms, how comfortable the beds are, even how good the showers felt!

Higher Trapp, you did yourselves proud. Please pass on my sincerist regards to Jamie, and to the manager. You run a perfect wedding venue.

If anybody has any questions at all, please dont hestitate; get a message sent to me, and I will absolutely reply when I can.

Many Thanks

Darren and Charlotte

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramsden85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I am delighted that you had an amazing time. Jamie is a wonderful planner with loads of patience and this obviously was felt by yourselves.
We hope you will come and see us very soon.



Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just returned from a family wedding at the weekend. We booked into the hotel for one night for Friday 7th June. My mother was also with us. We were going on to a wedding in another area the following day.
We were greeted at the Reception by a very friendly young lady who booked us in very efficiently.
Our rooms overlooked the beautiful gardens. It was idyllic especially with the lovely weather we had the whole weekend.
We had dinner that evening in Fitzys Bar and restaurant which was excellent. The staff were excellent - very attentive giving great service.
The nights sleep was very comfortable. Rooms are clean and airy and there was a hospitality tray which was most welcome.
Breakfast next morning was delicious! There was a great selection of food -fresh sliced fruits on a large platter, a bowl of mixed fresh fruits, pastries, fruit juices, etc. also hot options full English, various egg choices - all served freshly by our waitress. Excellent all round. Well done to all the staff and their attention to detail.
We would definitely stay here again if we visit the area again.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the gardens- so peaceful and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denny99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for a very kind review.
I am delighted that your visit met all expectations and we hope to see you again soon.


Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Took a family member for a quick lunch on a deal. We parked in the car park at the side of the hotel but did find it a little bit hard to find the actual entrance! We followed the line of the building and found a doorway up some steps. This led into a large room with a lovely view of the garden area. The food was OK but as we were on a lunch deal, I didn't expect much in the way of cordon bleu. You could tell it was deal time as there were 'pensioners who lunch' there in their droves!!

The service was fine and nothing arrived late or cold.

Probably would go back again for the same deal but wouldn't make a special trip out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked family room at hotel to stay over after wedding reception...and a lovely time was had by all. Stayed in lodge next to hotel, huge family room very comfortable and the beds were fantastic...as was Breakfast in the morning anything you wanted (except for soya milk !).
The grounds and views were another attraction but on a dark & drizzly day did'nt have a great chance to wander around or sit outside on the many terraces with a drink. Plan to return as a couple later in the year, on a sunny day a 5.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owdshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review.
Your feedback is important to us as this helps us deliver a good service to all our guests.




Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The older part of this hotel looks attractive from the outside and the setting is charming enough with gardens and woodland all around. But somehow it feels like the interior has been lost in a time warp - it somehow shouts of the ninteen seventies and eighties, Some of the rooms -including one I stayed in - is in an annexe . This looks like a characterless block which smacks of a modern detatched house split into lots of rooms. Nothing wrong with it. perfectly clean and bright but characterless and sterile.
The ground floor room I stayed in had top windows which opened but they opened so far without locking it was impossible to have them open at night without risking intruders. This meant having a room which was hotter than I would have liked and there was no air conditioning that i could see.
The menu in the hotel looked promising . Lots of choice and genuine home made items. But some dishes were overpriced for what they turned out to be and didn;t match the description. The field mushrooms with pesto and mozarella sounded like a great starter. Instead it was button mushrooms , the mozarella was some token blobs cooked on top and the rest was very watery . Equally the home made cheese pie had pastry which wasn't crisp and the inside was rather rubbery . These are simple dishes whuich should have been better. You are looking at about £16 for two courses like these.
Breakfast was much better and generous. The only problem was the service. Toast was not offered, when I was asked if i wanted any it was then burnt and they had to apologise and make more. There seemed to be a lack of co-ordination . A great shame as the staff were all very friendly and charming. Overall I was disappointed with this stay .

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isnt on the groumd floor so you can open the windows safely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCCLAPHAM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am sorry that your experience was not what you expected. We have taken on board the comments you have made regarding the food and service and hopefully with the newly appointed restaurant manger some of these problems will be alleviated.

Kind Regards

Maxine Walsh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
4.4 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
4.1 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Address: Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Trapp Lane | Simonstone, Burnley BB12 7QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Burnley
Burnley Best Western
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel Burnley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing