We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I regularly stay on business using corporate rate system at the Oakes & whilst I've had some small things that have been wrong in the past it's never been enough to complain about. Things like asking staff for a coffee at breakfast & it not arriving.

Today was very poor from start to finish. We wait arrived around 8.30pm & ordered some sandwiches from the bar menu. Prior to us ordering a (slightly large?!) group of 8 had ordered just before. We were warned by the waiter that the wait may be a little longer, that was ok. It wasn't ok to still be waiting for food past 10pm!

When eventually getting to my room the window had been left open. It's November in Burnley, whilst the fresh air is nice I don't require my room to be the same temperature as outside.

I expect corporate hotels to have a small bottle of shampoo in the room, there was none.

When arriving down for breakfast I walked into the dining room & waited for over 5 minutes while a full room of diners was completely unattended by waiting staff. I eventually went to reception & they called down to the kitchen before a waitress arrived. It turned out there were two waitresses, how hard it it for one to always stay in the dining room & one to go to the kitchen?

I found their attitude to be perfectly fine however staff training in this hotel seems generally poor.

On the plus side they remembered my coffee today!

Finally when we went to pay there were 3 alcoholic drinks added to our bill which we didn't have. It wasn't a hassle to get these removed but it just all adds to the shambolic impression that I am consistently left with when visiting this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was disappointed to hear you encountered some problems during your stay. I will be following up all of your comments with my team. If you would like to discuss your stay any further please don't hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 615 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

A beautiful location, and a beautiful historical house converted tastefully to a hotel. It features an amazing stained glass window depicting the history of the former owner of the house and connections in business. A historical information sheet is available at reception. Lovely food, great breakfast and an extremely comfy stay with free wifi included. An excellent experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Susie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I was delighted to hear your stay was such a positive one. I will share your comments with the team. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a quaint hotel and fairly old fashioned but warmly and comfortable! The rooms were reasonable, clean and comfortable!
The decor was dated but not tatty and it had a nice charm about it. It was also extremely reasonably priced!
The only downside was that it was like a maze and to get to our room consisted of upstairs, downstairs, upstairs again, down corridors etc etc! It was hard enough sober, after a few drinks it was impossible! :-)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cfox1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to hear that on the whole your stay was a positive one. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a beautiful building in a pleasant area just outside Burnley. The main lobby, staircase and stained glass window are absolutely stunning and we spent a couple of hours sitting there and (in the daylight) enjoying the stained glass. In addition there is a grand piano in the corner which I was able to play for an hour or so. Not a great sound from it and a few notes out of tune, but that's a nice treat. The evening meal was a bit of an experience since the hotel had a new member of staff on who got the orders wrong. But, hey, once we got it right the food was delicious and it was a good meal. The hotel dealt with it well and the staff were friendly and reasonable.

Room Tip: closer to the main property may involve fewer stairs!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I was happy to hear that your experience was positive. We do have a stunning hotel with some wonderful features. My apologies for any confusion at dinner. I am pleased it was resolved professionally and that you enjoyed your meal. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our wedding Day was truly a day to remember thanks to Donna and her team. From the initial booking and preparation right through to the day itself, all the staff were professional friendly and couldn't do enough to help.
Nothing was too much trouble and the day itself ran like clockwork.

Well done and thankyou so much

Suzanne & Paul

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I was delighted to hear that Donna and the team could help make your special day a success. I will pass on your feedback.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

good breakfasts emma good caring waitress
noisy room over leisure centre banging doors door cards often not working i had to trail round outside of hotel to get back in from swimming . Food other then breakfast dire expensive straight from freezer to microwave .Most staff sullenly polite ,waitresses clumping . poorly trained badly managed.
Great Jacuzzi .

Room Tip: do.t eat there
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynthia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay. I was disappointed to hear that you encountered some problems. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel and I will discuss these issues.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Thank you to Donna and the Team for being so flexible and accommodating with regard to our corporate event this week.

Not only did you make the planning so easy, but your Team on the evening took all the stress and strain of last minute changes and requests and dealt with them in a totally professional manner and without a hiccup.

The private dining room was a fabulous setting, beautifully laid out and gave us the seclusion necessary for a successful evening.

Well done!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was happy to hear that your corporate dinner was a success. I will share your feedback with Donna and the team. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
4.3 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
2.6 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Burnley
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
280 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Colne Road | Reedley, Burnley BB10 2LF, England (Formerly Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range: $81 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of a wealthy local tea merchant, The Oaks Hotel has been restored preserving the grand feel of a bygone era. The lounge area is dominated by a 25ft high stained glass window depicting the story of Abraham Althams life and work in the Burnley Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club Burnley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing