We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a fascinating history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Hotel with a fascinating history”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The original grand house was built by a successful tea merchant and the stained glass on the main staircase is staggering. We chose this hotel because it is handy for cycling the Leeds/Liverppool Canal. The room was fine if a bit dated. The leisure centre was nice and the gymn a good size and very well equipped. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want a restful stay ask for a room on the top floor. It is a bit of a trek with a lot of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your stay. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience. The hotel does indeed have a fascinating history. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Yours Sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    189
    111
    48
    33
See reviews for
142
187
28
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Would like to thank all the staff at the oaks hotel for making our wedding day so perfect.
The staff worked so hard all day and nothing was too much to ask for. Our bedroom was beautiful and clean with so much space. The breakfast was lovely as was our food during the day and at night.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tghjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback with regards to your recent wedding and stay. I was delighted to hear the team looked after you so well. I will share your comments with all the staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport18
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I arrived late on in the evening and the welcome was fine. I had a long walk to my room up and down stairs - typical of a converted property with an extension. When I finally got there it was a suite - or so it said on the door. It was just a standard room but with a four poster bed in my opinion. Nice refurbished bathroom. The person on the first floor above me must have been a heavy guy because the nice he made moving about was very annoying. The bed was fine. Didn't eat in the evening and had a quick breakfast and left. Breakfast was fine. Useful property for an overnight if you are working in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millport18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can look after you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice enough rooms. Good selection of teas/coffee/hot chocolate and more and bottle of water. Modern and decent size tv with freeview with sky sports and sky one. Powerful shower. Wifi can be a bit temperamental and disconnects often, seems to differ from room to room though. Wifi speed measured at 2Mbps so once you get a signal it's fairly decent. The restaurant leaves a lot to be dessired. Didnt have great expectations although was pleasantly surprised by the selection available. However I'm afraid to say the execution was pretty poor. Steaks did not seem to be great quality and would be surprised if they weren't supermarket bought. Fish was overcooked. Chips pretty tasteless. I have no idea why these aren't fresh cut chips rather than frozen out of a bag. There are also some bizarre combinations such as steamed mussels with grated cheese. I think they would be better going back to basics and making really simple good tasting food.
Overall it's fairly good value and rooms are good. If stairs are an issue for you then this isn't the hotel for you but for most people it isn't an problem. Stayed during the week so can't comment on the noise from 'event nights' but it was perfectly quiet during the week. Pool and gym facilities were good. Just do yourself a favour and don't eat in the hotel if you would like a good meal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback. I am disappointed to hear that not all aspects of your stay were positive. I will be using your feedback to ensure we improve the service we offer our guests in the future.

Yours sincerely
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Renewed our wedding vows on 19/07/13.excellent organisation from Donna and team.food beautiful,location excellent as were all the amenities.staff very friendly and helpful.our party booked 20 rooms and there was not one complaint from them.me and my wife stayed again 03/08/13 and again everything was above standard.we have just booked again for 16/08/13 for the seventies night and looking forward to it.many thanks again to Donna and all the staff.

Room Tip: Speak to staff to advise on your requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsalvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Best Western Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club, I am delighted to hear you and your guests enjoyed your stay with us, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in for the 70's night..

Kind Regards,
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here whilst away on business , firstly the building is very old and quirky what I thought was lovely however the food was shocking very bad and the food was badly under cooked including chicken , the rooms were very small and had a damp smell also beds were worn and needed replacing as had lumps in mattress , I was on the ground floor and my view was a brick wall and had water leaking down one of the walls I asked reception to move rooms and was told no. they offer free Wi-Fi however I couldn't get connected once during my stay I was told its broken. overall I would say it was a poor experience and not a place I will be returning

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback, I was sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as positive as it could of been, We strive to continually improve our service offered and I have taken on board your comments and passed these onto the revlevant departments within the hotel.

I apologise that you could not move rooms as we were fully booked, the internet was down in the area due to external issues which was out of our control.

If you wish to discuss your stay further don't hesitate to contact myself.
Kind Regards,
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I recently visited the hotel along with my partner and our 23 month old son. The hotel was in a lovely setting and only 10 minutes drive from the town centre. The staff at the hotel were very polite and very helpful. The room was a lovely size although a little bit of a walk from the reception. The swimming pool was very relaxing. Breakfast was beautiful very fresh and hot. Plenty of choice from the continental buffet and English breakfasts could be personalised. Would defianately recommend this hotel for families or couples.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie300886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOaks, General Manager at Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Best Western Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
David Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
4.3 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Burnley
328 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
261 reviews
7.4 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Burnley
Travelodge Burnley
#6 of 6 in Burnley
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Colne Road | Reedley, Burnley BB10 2LF, England (Formerly Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of a wealthy local tea merchant, The Oaks Hotel has been restored preserving the grand feel of a bygone era. The lounge area is dominated by a 25ft high stained glass window depicting the story of Abraham Althams life and work in the Burnley Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club Burnley, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing