We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babar Elephant at Fence - CLOSED

Babar Elephant at Fence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very pleased to have found this restaurant as a couple of good Indian restaurants have closed in the past 2 years with nothing to replace them. Babar has an interesting menu which includes the usual sub-continent range of curries etc, along with several speciality dishes from Nepal. The food was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TechnoPrisoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    32
    16
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

A wonderful restaurant! The staff are so helpful and the food is wonderful. The food is well presented and not at all greasy as in some Indian restaurants. We will certainly be visiting again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No mains”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a table booked for seven thirty we arrived and ordered drinks and looked at the menu which looked nice, we were taken into the restaurant and ordered our meals, the poppadoms came quickly but were served with coleslaw? The starters arrived which were lovely, then the problems started we ordered more drinks which did not appear so one of the party went to the bar, we then orders wine which didn't arrive, but the main problem was we did not get our main courses and after asking the manager and waiting staff we decided at ten thirty we didn't want them, the manager was very apologetic but to visit a restaurant and not get either food or drinks its not good. I will return in the hope we visited on a bad night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scubaste_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food excellent, service good tried to book again but ran into complications!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited this restaurant midweek and quite a few tables were occupied. We had a couple of drinks in the bar area which was nice and we were then shown to our table. We sat in a booth which we found very comfortable. The food was very good indeed, well presented, tasty and piping hot. We tried to book again for a Friday night but were informed that we had a choice of 2 sittings, 6pm for 6:30pm or 8:30pm for 9pm, we didn't end up booking as the timings were totally inconvenient for us. In my opinion they should relax the 2 sittings idea and allow people to book a table when it is convenient for the customer, not restrict the customer because it is easier for the business.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveDR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good and Bad points”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had never been to Babar Elephant before, but had heard good reviews from family and friends. So we decide to give it a go and took a party of 11 from work. The booking process was easy and we chose the second sitting.

Upon arrival we was greeted and shown to the bar/waiting area. We did have quite a wait of around 30 minuets before been shown to our table. Personally I think this was a little too long.

As we had read the menu whilst waiting, the waiter took our order pretty quickly. The menu covered the usual Indian dishes you expect plus additional "house" dishes.

The customary poppadoms and chutneys followed, these where plentiful and pleasant. We only had a short wait for our starters, and then the main courses. All of the food brought to the table was cooked and presented to a good standard, with no complaints. The table was offered dessert however we declined as we all was too full.

The service throughout our experience was good. The waiters were attentive, but It would have been nice to have been seated more promptly.

The only negatives for Babar Elephant are:

1. The long wait to be seated.
2. Price of drinks.
3. The restaurant was too hot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danieljamesrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babar Elephant at Fence also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing