We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and Bad points” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babar Elephant at Fence - CLOSED

Babar Elephant at Fence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good and Bad points”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had never been to Babar Elephant before, but had heard good reviews from family and friends. So we decide to give it a go and took a party of 11 from work. The booking process was easy and we chose the second sitting.

Upon arrival we was greeted and shown to the bar/waiting area. We did have quite a wait of around 30 minuets before been shown to our table. Personally I think this was a little too long.

As we had read the menu whilst waiting, the waiter took our order pretty quickly. The menu covered the usual Indian dishes you expect plus additional "house" dishes.

The customary poppadoms and chutneys followed, these where plentiful and pleasant. We only had a short wait for our starters, and then the main courses. All of the food brought to the table was cooked and presented to a good standard, with no complaints. The table was offered dessert however we declined as we all was too full.

The service throughout our experience was good. The waiters were attentive, but It would have been nice to have been seated more promptly.

The only negatives for Babar Elephant are:

1. The long wait to be seated.
2. Price of drinks.
3. The restaurant was too hot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danieljamesrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    32
    16
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Took a party of 6 from work , everyone of them complimented the food and service they really enjoyed and will be back , this s turning into one of my regular restaurants always a nice experience.keep up the good work guys ! .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Another success for the Blue / Babar Elephant group. drinks in the bar on arrival, study the interesting menu. Always worth considering the specials. Great service. Excellent food. Popular (always a good sign) and gets busy so booking may be advisable. Great value too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The food was poor. The poppadoms did not have all the usual chutney accompaniments . Strangely enough one of them was coleslaw!!?? The starters were average and then a long long wait for the main course which was thick with tikka paste. We sent back one dish. The place is ok decor wise but nothing special. The waiters were generally pleasant if not a little stressed which makes us think there were probably kitchen issues!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annie792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went to Babar Elephant on a snowy Sunday evening. First visit and we will be back.
Food was fabulous and such a varied menu to suit all. Service was excellent. Comfortable lounge.to sit in after, for coffee and drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babar Elephant at Fence also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing