We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!!”
Review of The Woodland Spa

The Woodland Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The first thing you’ll notice when you visit The Woodland Spa, is our location. Set within 100 acres of the most magnificent Lancashire countryside with its undulating rolling landscape, sensational woodland and lush verdant pasture, there is a true sense of intimacy and peace created by the surroundings. The dramatic and distinct landscape is dominated by the impressive Pendle Hill – famous for its tales of Lancashire witches, sorcery and black magic in the 17th-century.This is your spa, so enjoy it your way. Whether you wish to visit us in order to indulge in our luxury treatments, visit our Thermal Suite for a heat and ice journey like no other or better still enjoy the most gratifying experience of all – a Spa Day, we’re certain you’ll love it here.Listen carefully. Soak up the sound of silence whilst you unwind and begin to relax, away from all life’s pressures and time constraints.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had a girls day out & felt like a star from the moment we arrived until we left!! The spa is amazing and the staff are excellent too. I would highly recommend a pamper day here and will definitely be making a return visit soon.

Thank SamanthaS3518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWoodlandSpa, Manager at The Woodland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Samantha
Thank you for your review following your visit.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your pamper day with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Ian MItchell
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"serenity pool"
in 103 reviews
"tapas"
in 56 reviews
"thermal experience"
in 63 reviews
"flip flops"
in 46 reviews
"terrace bar"
in 33 reviews
"my birthday"
in 26 reviews
"glass of wine"
in 45 reviews
"on arrival"
in 57 reviews
"bertrams restaurant"
in 27 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 42 reviews
"outdoor area"
in 17 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 28 reviews
"hen party"
in 14 reviews
"quiet room"
in 16 reviews
"hot tub"
in 25 reviews
"relaxing experience"
in 15 reviews
"my friend"
in 44 reviews
Filter

840 - 844 of 874 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

As spas go, this place has got to rank among the best. Attentive staff on arrival, who offered clear instructions on facilities, lunch, lockers etc. Brilliant. Coffee and pastries while the necessaries were filled in. Wow, the place just gets better. The spa areas are great - well thought out and very clean. Robe and flip-flops provided, serenity area, outdoor pool - fab. There's a couple of big "buts" though......Here goes. By late morning the sun loungers outside were bagged German-tourist style by people's towels. We had been warned about this by reception staff. However, we just thought people would move around... Wrong. By lunchtime there were large groups of people drinking and smoking (at a spa?!) on said loungers. By the time we left at 5pm it was basically a pool party. Groups sat in hot tubs with wine glasses in hand. Mmmmmm... I'm just not sure about an outside bar serving alcohol open all afternoon and a spa go hand-in-hand. Customers of the restaurant can sit by the pool alongside spa attendees. So, there are people who just go there to spend a day by a pool in the sun, drinking, while you have paid for a spa experience. Which, to be fair, is sold as relaxation. I understand the bar is a new addition, but it needs a re-think. If you have paid for a spa, you expect a spa atmosphere. Even drinks being served later would be fine. But, can't get my head around people wandering into a serenity area with a glass of booze in one hand. Not quite sure about the safety issues with so many heat experiences too. I suppose as a spa customer you don't want to feel that anyone can just wander in, order a drink and experience what you have a paid quite a lot of hard-earned cash for. Also, you want to be a little bit more private - not be dipping in and out of pool in front of groups of drinkers.
Restaurant - food was excellent. Very good, can't fault it. Owner introduced himself at lunch which was a nice touch. Was before the outside bar opened though, otherwise we would have mentioned our concerns. A delay (an hour before dessert arrived) was not initially dealt with well - mentioned it to staff twice, including concerns about it getting nearer to treatment times, but wasn't until a supervisor realised what had happened that it was properly tackled. But free drinks offered by a brilliant staff member eventually saved the day. The spa facilities are brilliant. Think the owners need to think about what they want to create though - a serene spa, or a venue for drinking in the sun.

9  Thank MissThePoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Have just been for a day here and booked to come again straight away !
The whole day was excellent. The staff were welcoming and and took us to the restaurant area for tea and coffee. You get a pair of flip flops, robe and towel which you keep for the full day. The spa is lovely and a great range of areas to use. The serenity pool is great and the outside hot tubs !
I had two mini treatments which again were great. Woodland spa is defiantly somewhere I will be coming more often ! Can't fault the day at all

Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWoodlandSpa, Manager at The Woodland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Amy
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us.

We're really pleased that you had a great time and will be coming back.

We look forward to seeing you.

Kind regards
Ian Mitchell
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned home from a spa day with a friend. On arrival we were shown through to the spa by a very nice man who chatted to us all the way and got us really excited about what was to come. The changing areas were spacious and very attractive. We set off around the spa in the order as recommended and did enjoy it all. Only problem we found was the trickle of water from the water fountain which didn't encourage u to drink much as it was so slow. As it was a beautiful day we swam out onto the patio area where there are also 2 jacuzzis and found ourselves two sun loungers where we lounged until lunch. At 1.30 we asked if we could have our lunch on the patio area and were happy to hear that we could. Our food was amazing and the drinks delicious, shame about the service!! We finished our meals and nobody came to clear our plates away. We had treatments booked for 3pm so at 2.45 we went in search of staff to ask for our desserts to be served. The order for our desserts had been lost and we had to remind the waiter of the order. The waiter was very pleasant but I think the problem was that they were understaffed. We ended up eating our desserts very fast as by now the therapists had come looking for us. Our treatments were wonderful and the therapists were very pleasant. The whole venue is beautifully furnished, shame about the shower pressure. My shower took forever as the water was a trickle which could probably be rectified with a good plumber. All in all a wonderful day out with just a couple if disappointments that could easily be put right.

Thank roxyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWoodlandSpa, Manager at The Woodland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us.

I'm sorry to hear about the issue with your desserts and have looked into why this occurred for you. This is not acceptable and by no means the usual practice.

Our engineers are investigating the water pressure in the showers too.

We hope these issues have not put you off returning and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Ian Mitchell
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Visited Woodland Spa with my daughter who had treated me for my birthday. Our experience was fantastic. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had complimentary tea/coffee and pastries on arrival whilst we filled in the obligatory forms. The facilities are excellent, spotlessly clean and this spa is open until 9.30 p.m. Our lunch was lovely with a complimentary glass of wine. I didn't want to leave and will definitely be visiting Woodland Spa again.

Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWoodlandSpa, Manager at The Woodland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Yvonne
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us.

We're really pleased you had a great time celebrating your birthday with us!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Ian Mitchell
Sales & Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodland Spa also viewed

 
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Woodland Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing