We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of New Waggoners

New Waggoners
Ranked #5 of 172 Restaurants in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went to New Waggoners last Saturday afternoon ,having booked in advance, for a family meal. We were shown to our table straight away and served quickly from a limited menu,the food and service were very good. I can't give more than an average rating because the place was very crowded with tables to close together and also very hot, could do with air conditioning. It was also very noisy, all most impossible to hold a conversation with the person opposite you. We were also charged £5-40 for half a small jacket potato and a few beans for a baby's meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Davemarie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    188
    76
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Just tried the New Wagginers tonight. We have tried a number of times but it is always booked and I can now see why. The food and the service was first class. We will be back very soon as it was one of the best meals out we have had for a long time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Salohcin311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The restaurant was busy, in fact there was only one table available when we booked earlier that day. We arrived early and had time to get a drink in the bar. When we were taken to our table we were given the menu fairly quickly and there was a wide selection of choices to be had from it plus a 'specials' list. There were four of us and we all chose starters which were nicely presented and plentiful.We were pleased with the main courses that we had and,again, they were plentiful. We were impressed by the quality of the food and the service. We got plenty of smiles and the overall atmosphere was very pleasant.The prices were reasonable too.We are looking forward to going again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk Lancashire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited last Saturday with Family, the service was super fast we all had the medium fish and chips the fish was perfect light batter and tasty. However the peas where hard and the chips where the fozen type. if they cook fresh fish why cant they do fresh chips as well. Saying that my gran liked it and its in a nice setting. The price is average for the area I would not go out of my way to re visit but if passing would call in if I was hungry. One thing tho the portions are a bit over facing they must get a lot of waste.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caroleblakeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Needs new furniture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Food ok. Tables and chairs very scruffy. Need updating to add to feel of the place. Staff friendly and good service received.


  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Waggoners also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to New Waggoners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing