We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't know about it if someone hadn't told me...”

Happa Horses and Ponies Protection Association
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shores Hey Farm is a hidden delight set in acres of green space overlooking the Thursden Valley. Although primarily the home of HAPPA (Horses and Ponies Protection Association), the site has been recently upgraded and now provides everything that you would expect from a first class destination. Burnley's best kept secret......until now Shores Hey offers first class facilities in a relaxing rural environment within easy reach of Burnley town centre and the M65. Whether it's an Equine Event or a Corporate Conference, HAPPA is the natural place to do business. With ample parking and on site catering, Shores Hey Farm is the perfect venue for your next event.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I wouldn't know about it if someone hadn't told me...”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

My 2 year old daughter is horse mad, so we were looking for places around Burnley to see horses. Most websites pointed us to oswaldtwistle as there is a horse sanctuary there. Someone told me about HAPPA, we went there and it was great. Lots of horses, ponys and donkeys. We spent about 1 hour there looking round, my daughter loved it. All the best HAPPA.

Helpful?
2 Thank CB1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    19
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lancashire's best cake and a worthwhile charity”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Happa is a wonderful trip out for anyone that likes horses. They do fantastic work and my pony mad son has previously been an adopter of ponies - he got a chance to groom them and for a timy annual fee of about £45 was able to become engaged with and bond with the horses. It also has a brilliant cafe with some fantastic home made cake and brilliant volunteers - go - you'll love it and also make a difference!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“If you think you love horses - Happa loves them more”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Lovely welcome to this charity that looks after maltreated or neglected horses, ponies and donkeys. Over 55 on site when we visited and during a tour you can get to know some of the their stories. Looking at them it's hard to believe the state they were in when recovered. The enthusiasm and experience of the staff is tremendous, as is the ginger and white cat that will likely escort you around the premises in exchange for an occasional pat on the head (he stands on his hind legs to assist this!).
This is a good experience for children, especially those who have little contact with large animals and a family visit can be topped off with a home cooked meal at very reasonable cost in the café. Lots of pony orientated presents for sale too and please don't forget to make a donation!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DINERMIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GO THERE!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I visited the centre with my husband & parents whilst on holiday and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the visit & the cafe is great too - very reasonable. We were surprised at how many horses they had in their care and the staff were very friendly, telling us the horses' history when we asked. We particularly liked Little John, a sweet little pony that had been ill and was found abandoned in some woods, it's so heartwarming to hear of his rescue.

They always have horses and ponies that need homes, so if you are able to rehome one of them get in touch. I have a horse on loan from HAPPA in the Wye Valley and so had to visit their head office in Burnley.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank choctruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley lancashire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

really good day out and great for the kids, the cafe does some beautiful home cooked food which is a must to try and youll be sure to go back

Helpful?
Thank mazarate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happa Horses and Ponies Protection Association also viewed

 

Been to Happa Horses and Ponies Protection Association? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing