We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow sevice”
Review of The Fat Giraffe

The Fat Giraffe
Ranked #40 of 172 Restaurants in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The fat giraffe is a welcoming place to be, we serve delicious homemade food at great prices. Our speciality is afternoon tea which is voted the best around by our customers. We have the most amazing coffee nd mouthwatering cakes. Its a great place to sit with your friends and have a good old catch up. We also cater for private functions and we are fully licensed. We hope to see you soon :)
Burnley
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slow sevice”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Called here for lunch on Saturday recently, place was busy but not full. Food for the 3 of us took exactly 1 hour to arrive. No apologies what so ever for our wait. Food average at best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbell963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    30
    13
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited today for lunch and the restaurant/bistro was very busy. The owner just moved some furniture out of the way and erected a table for us so we could have some lunch, how many establishments would do that? The food was very tasty and for the quality we had very reasonable. A real hidden gem!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoePMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent food, a real gem.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This trip to The Fat Giraffe was my 1st and special due to the fact it was my wife's birthday, and as all you men know, if you get it wrong the rest of the year could be worst.

I booked a table through the lovely owner Clare, the day came, the sun was shinning, so everything looked good, and it was the best day i have had in years.

The food was excellent, plenty of choice, my wife is a vegi, but they bent over backwards to look after us to make this day special.

Cafe by day, Bistro by night, it just works really well, food,service,atmosphere were perfect.

A real find, and we cant wait to return.

Lee & Kelly @ Pendle Pictures

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PendlePictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely little gem. Its is my birthday and my husband had let them know. We went for lunch and they couldnt have looked after me any better. The wine was beautiful. The homemade soup(spicy sweet potato) wonderful better than my own homemade soup. And a very light refreshing Greek salad delicious. My husband had a platter which was fabulous. And although no room for dessert they brought me a freshly baked piece of chocolate brownie complete with candle and a happy birthday rendition. Thankyou for making me feel so special can't wait to return x Kelly

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelsbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We called in for lunch, the service was friendly if a little slow but the food was excellent, we plumpt for a plate for 2 of tappas type meal, it was excellent and we reminisced about foreign holidays while we ate. It was very nice and authentic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Giraffe also viewed

 
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Fat Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing