We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality with atmosphere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fat Giraffe

The Fat Giraffe
Ranked #44 of 172 Restaurants in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The fat giraffe is a welcoming place to be, we serve delicious homemade food at great prices. Our speciality is afternoon tea which is voted the best around by our customers. We have the most amazing coffee nd mouthwatering cakes. Its a great place to sit with your friends and have a good old catch up. We also cater for private functions and we are fully licensed. We hope to see you soon :)
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality with atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The food is presented and tastes excellent. I'm vegetarian and I love the fact that I have different choices everytime. The atmosphere is relaxed, the service is friendly, and welcoming. I was informed that if there was any special dietary needs, just to let them know when we book, as the menu is refreshed regularly. Breakfast, lunch and evenings all have the warm welcoming feel with good food. If you like quality food and drink in a friendly atmosphere this is a gem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillyganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    30
    13
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly place. Homely.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Easy to find. You can park outside. Relaxing place. Friendly polite staff. Nice food. We had soup of the day. Cake and coffee. Reasonably priced. Newspapers for reading. Nice park two minutes away for gentle walk. Would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little foodie treasure in a town short of them”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

If you find yourself in the wind-swept town of Padiham, which I lived near for many, many years this little gem on the main route through is really well worth stopping off for a light bite.

The home cooked menu of contemporary food is really quite adventurous in parts (for a town not known for its celebration of fine food) but mainly focuses on a mix of light savoury snacks, salads and sandwiches. Presentation is excellent and the team of people who run this place really care about the finer details.

Portions are generous and there is a daily specials board as well as cakes and afternoon teas. Not the largest café on the planet but it is has a cool and quaint intimacy.

This café deserves to be a real hit with cyclists as its on the main route through to the Pennines (if you're heading towards Burnley) and on the road out to Whalley and Clitheroe if you're heading to the Ribble Valley.

A great place for lunch and, if I'm not mistaken, it is open in the evenings over the weekend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom62Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in Padiham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fantastic food, lovely host. A great place to just relax and have a coffee. Would recommend the burger!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once again excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went for my birthday superb food and good service. One of the best restaurants in the area. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmypud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Giraffe also viewed

 
Haslingden, Rossendale
 
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Fat Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing