We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”
Review of Fence Gate Inn

Fence Gate Inn
Ranked #13 of 174 Restaurants in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: consistantly good food and bar snacks
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I visited Fence Gate recently for a business lunch, and I wasn't disappointed.

I had the fish platter and a glass of white wine - it was an absolutely delicious meal.

The setting is very nice, and the service was faultless. The staff are very attentive indeed.

It's a little pricey, but it's worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    174
    103
    57
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Padiham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely food in great surroundings!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Me and my partner went here recently for tea. I have wanted to try this place for a while so i was excited to go! The foodwas delicious. I had duck and pancakes to start and king prawn with garlic and chilli linguine.... Delicious! My partner had smoked salmon to start and chilli and chorizo sausages and mash for his main. He loved the food too! We weren't rushed and had a nice relaxed me.

One thing that does let the place down is the pub bit. Its in definite need of a refurb and i personally thinks this lets the place down a little bit. I would return for food though!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank princess_lealea22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent can't fault anything”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our wedding anniversary! Impromptu visit, very accommodating we arrived after 3pm Sunday,
Wonderful delightful, staff fantastic and very professional ..... Best dining in Pendle ! Worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corinne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Went with 5 friends to take in last of
the summer bliss, we


had to pay up front for every drink and food

Food small ,bland and not value for money

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pitrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Enjoyable meal and evening”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Fence Gate on a Friday night. No problems checking in and quickly taken to our table on arrival.

The menu seems to have changed recently and was attached to a piece of card which didn't seem to suit the atmosphere of the place...I assume they will be getting actual menus printed soon.

The food available also seemed to be a little more basic than I had been led to believe by friends who had been previously. Included all the usual dishes you would expect...fish, pasta, steak etc, but nothing unique I haven't seen elsewhere.

Saying that the food we ordered was fantastic, and couldn't fault the quality or size of portion. I had steak and it was cooked to perfection.

All in all my wife and I had a fantastic evening and will be going back to the Fence Gate.

If the worst thing about an evening meal is the actual physical menu and nothing more you're onto a winner. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fence Gate Inn also viewed

 
Fence, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to Fence Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing