We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it here!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sycamore Farm Pub Restaurant

Sycamore Farm Pub Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 172 Restaurants in Burnley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This place has the most amazing cakes I have ever seen and tasted. They are all home made cakes and they are delightful....
Todmorden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Cheap food, huge menu, tasty food & large portions. What more could you possibly want?

The carvery is lovely and the range of veg and meat is great. It's a large restaurant and there's usually a slight wait as you can't prebook tables but what do you expect when somewhere is so popular. Wednesdays are usually pretty busy as its the night of the Pubquiz, which I only went to once. Not my cup of tea as it doesn't start till 9pm and runs quite late and if you're sat at the back of the pub it's quite difficult to hear whats been said, especially if other people are talking around you.

The food is lovely and so are the staff. I am a regular visitor and don't think I've ever been disappointed by the food or the service :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    260
    158
    81
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

good food buffet exceptional value great veg small/big plate 4 meats deserts outrageously glamorous beautifully displayed staff happy keen attentive always looking to help very well chosen trained and managed i would take anyone there and feel secure that they would enjoy and love the prices .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This food is so good, and amazing value for money too. Me and my daughter come here regularly because we love to order the carvery, its the best one we have ever tasted. The carvery offers a great selection; ranging from about 5 meat choices and loads of veg to choose from. Also the desserts are to die for, you might need to take it home though due to being extremely full. However don't eat the Chantilly cream, we are not keen but it might just be to your taste. But food aside, it is quite noisy here, the background music is quite loud and voices of people talking travel, its hard to have a conversation with the one your dining with. There is a kids section which is a lot worse and a lot noisier, but don't worry you only have to sit there if you have children with you that are under 12 years old. But thumbs up for the food, we would definitely recommend it!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smilelikeanelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Typical Pub Grub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

A huge varied menu with several vegetarian options and lighter meals.

Prices are low and the amount of food you get is huge.

In my opinion the food is not high quality and the meal was served too quickly for it to have been cooked fresh to order.

They pride themselves on their deserts but I can't say any of them made me want to try them. Again the price was low and the quantity was huge, but if you have to serve so much food cheaply it often lacks in quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TortMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very disappointing, regulars must be desperate!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My daughter and partner took me here having talked the place up all day. Living in France when I go back to the UK I tend to indulge a bit in 'Brit' food- so the carvery seemed attractive. The price was the most attractive aspect of the whole evening. The carvery was luke warm, greasy and staffed by a unfriendly humourless carver who had clearly learned how to carve meat in slices that stayed together despite being extra-ordinarily thin. The vegetables were tasteless and overcooked apart from the leeks which were inedible! The meat was dry & tasteless and as stated extremely mean portions. The place was heaving which is frightening bearing in mind the quality. The staff were either part of some community project or not able to communicate with anyone with an IQ above 75. Dont be conned by the crowds, I am sure Burnley has decent eateries where you are treated as valued customers, not pound notes with legs. It was noteworthy that this establishment clearly had a hard core of regulars amazingly accomplished in balancing about 4 kilos of food on an ordinary dinner plate-say no more!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joddwallgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sycamore Farm Pub Restaurant also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to Sycamore Farm Pub Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing