We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, dogs welcome”
Review of The Sparrowhawk

The Sparrowhawk
Ranked #6 of 172 Restaurants in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our food is fresh & sourced locally to embrace the flavours of the region. We are Taste Lancashire Highest Quality Assured & members of Made in Lancashire. We offer an extensive wine & also cask ales for which we achieved The Cask Marque Award. Upstairs we have a separate function room for private dining or business occasion. You can always be guaranteed a warm welcome & friendly service.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, dogs welcome”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good food, weekly specials, sandwiches at lunchtime very good.
Friendly staff. Nice beer garden.
We usually book as we like to take the dog, they are allowed in the bar area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    127
    44
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good pub, good food, good staff”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Came for lunch on a Sunday. Hadn't booked. Arrived early so able to get a table. Food was really good. Staff are friendly and helpful. Lovely place. Will visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Minibob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting pub”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Attractive building from the outside and a good size car park. Food was average but a welcome break and friendly service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Four of us called in for lunch on the off chance .... unfortunately there was a large funeral party who had just arrived ....we thought about leaving but we found a table and were approached by the young lady waitress.....she treated us as though we were the only people in the room ...no hurry ... the food arrived on time and was lovely ...the young man behind the bar was also first class ...a good time was had by all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely meal at the Sparrowhawk”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We met friends today and had lunch. The food was really good (I had a Ploughman's, served on a board and not only did it look good, but everything was very fresh). We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and the staff were excellent, considering how busy they were, they were friendly and made us really welcome. We will definitely go again. It was a treat!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sparrowhawk also viewed

 
Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Sparrowhawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing