We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“portman road”
Review of The Sparrowhawk

The Sparrowhawk
Ranked #6 of 172 Restaurants in Burnley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our food is fresh & sourced locally to embrace the flavours of the region. We are Taste Lancashire Highest Quality Assured & members of Made in Lancashire. We offer an extensive wine & also cask ales for which we achieved The Cask Marque Award. Upstairs we have a separate function room for private dining or business occasion. You can always be guaranteed a warm welcome & friendly service.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“portman road”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

found to be a very nice place to eat and drink, the menu had a nice selection to choose from and priced very reasonable, the food was excellent and the service very friendly and did not have to wait too long to be served.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank portmannroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    127
    44
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing - won't be back”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Last minute decision to take my wife and daughter for Sunday lunch. What a disappointment compared to our previous visits. Roast beef was tough as shoe leather and inedible (chef apologised and refunded). Lamb was tasteless. Baby carrots were not topped or cleaned properly so had grit in them. Food was all piled up with a Yorkshire pud on top. These people have been watching Masterchef but learned nothing!

Other diners were cancelling puddings when they got their mains.

It's a shame that such a lovely pub has lost it's way. We won't be back until the reviews improve.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What's happened to my Sparrow”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Oh Dear! This used to be a local favourite of mine but it has deteriorated rapidly in the last few months. Has there been a change of owners? The bill for 4 people was £110 for poor service and very poor food (Sunday roast or what was available of it). I was so embarrassed to have recommended it to my companions that I paid the bill myself and I swore never to go back. I've calmed down now but I will take some convincing before I make a return visit. Please get it back to what it once was!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good food”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great food,went for valentines day, would go again,service great very freindly staff have been for bar meals also good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“75%”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Called for lunch with friends on Friday lunchtime, nice and warm with a lovely log fire, attentive staff and good beer. Menu was nothing exciting but the usual pub fare which was fine. The black pudding was lovely but a bit on the meagre side, however I do realise it was a starter so shouldn't really complain, the hot roast beef sandwich was also voted a hit but they really do need to learn how to make a proper Lancashire Hotpot, this was very disappointing I have never seen one that looked like it had been pressed in a mould, it didn't look particularly good and this proved to be the case. So sorry Sparrowhawk you didn't come up to the mark.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sparrowhawk also viewed

 
Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Sparrowhawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing