We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - pity about the food”
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Ranked #61 of 172 Restaurants in Burnley
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Hare and Hounds Inn, Briercliffe, Burnley. Traditional British pub offering a cosy bar area, snug & separate dining area with panoramic views.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location - pity about the food”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We've visited the Hare and Hounds a few times for food over the past couple of years and everytime we have been disappointed.
Our most recent visit was for a function where they served a really disappointing buffet.
I agree with a previous reviewer. The restaurant is has no atmosphere at all. By all means go for a pub snack, but don't expect anything more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineg794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had a super evening out ,good tasty food,well cooked,large portions.Waiters were smart and
helpful. We had such a good choice and the desserts were a treat.We was not rushed and was
made really welcome

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good all rounder”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Excellent place for a pint, beer well looked after and barmen always on top form! Had some tea with my sister dead tasty and plenty of it definatly value for money! The way forward there is also a beautiful resturant area overlooking the veiws if you want something more intimate!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FabTastic!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Valentine's Dinner was exceptionally good value & the food was out of this world. The atmosphere was bliss and the service was second to none! I will certainly be back again and will recommend to all I know. Thank You for making our Special Evening even more Special. X x X X x X

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RFarrerWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Night out”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We decided to go to the Hare and Hounds after reading "Trip Advisor" reviews. Unfortunately the experience didn't match the high rating it had been given. The restaurant is in a dated extension to the pub and is furnished with cheap furniture. There is little atmosphere and when we visited (Friday evening), there were only 6 diners in total.
The food was at best average, I had 1/2 roast duck and my wife had steak and ale pie.
The service was fine and the coffee was good but if this is supposed to be one of the best pubs in Burnley to eat, according to your reviewers, I feel concerned for the culinary tastes of the Burnley folk. We wouldn't recommend it to our friends and we won't be going back. Sorry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

 
Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing