We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and friendly banter”
Review of The Ram Inn

The Ram Inn
Ranked #45 of 173 Restaurants in Burnley
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Traditional Classic Inn, with stunning views from the large beer garden. Keep warm with our open fires whilst enjoying fine food, wine and cask ales.
burnley
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food and friendly banter”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I dined at the Ram Inn on Monday October 14th to celebrate a friend's upcoming birthday. There were 4 of us. The classic mixed grill was lovely and very filling, as was the Sticky Toffee Pudding I had for dessert, although I asked for extra custard. We all enjoyed our food and drinks. The food was served relatively quickly by pleasant staff. I recommend eating at the Ram Inn Cliviger.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cosmicjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    123
    77
    58
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Plastic food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This used to be a good friendly Pub type atmosphere with good food. On a recent visit (the first for a couple of months) I was very disappointed, all the friendly staff had been replaced, the food seemed to be micro waved and not very appetising. I will give this one a miss in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and service for our Lonk sheep show lunch”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was late September when we held our annual Lonk sheep show in the fields adjacent to The Ram. We had pre warned them that there would be approx. 30ish people wanting to eat at lunchtime but because we had a good turn out the numbers were nearer 50. Laura took it in her stride and said it wasn't a problem. she reserved our tables and even though she warned us there may be a delay in getting all the food out (we were all ordering individually off the menu) food came out pretty quickly, was good and was served to us by very friendly staff and with Laura overseeing things, nothing was too much trouble (she even called in extra staff to cover our additional numbers).
Having held the same event here last year, the Ram seems so much better organised and the food far better this year. We are looking forward to next year and we may well be back before then!! Thankyou

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beckertonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Two of party vomited after eating King Prawn Risotto”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Pre-booked a meal for 12 to celebrate a relatives birthday. The first problem was with the 'free' children's meal, it might be free but was so small we had to order a second meal for the 7 year old child. Problem 2 the prawns in the King Prawn, Smoked Bacon & Asparagus Risotto appeared raw and slushy inside, shortly after eating them 2 members of the party vomited it back up, also in the lady's toilet was another person unattached to us also throwing up. Problem 3 was their coffee was so weak they had to be sent back. It goes without saying that no one from this party will eat at The Ram Inn again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Syke01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal yet!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Ram Inn is somewhere we go when visiting my mum in law in Bacup :-) this was our third visit this year & the food never disappoints :-) the steaks were gorgeous & the award winning steak & red wine pie is to die for!! Would highly recommend for the ambience, friendly..entertaining,! Staff :-D & great value for money. I also love the cosy atmosphere & the great views! Can't wait to come back to lancashire to visit again !! :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ram Inn also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Ram Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing