We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Nearby Hotels
$73
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Burnley(Burnley)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Sparth House Hotel(Clayton le Moors)
$91
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queen Hotel(Todmorden)
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveler rating
172
201
102
29
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
201
102
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaconbeansthe sofa bedair concoach tripself serviceusual hiemodern hotelfree wifibreakfast was includedbudget hotelsbuffet styleyogurta large car parkconvenient locationovernight stopvisiting family
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 524 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights on a coach holiday. We were a little bemused that we had to give our choice of soup and main course while en route, but not overly worried. When it came to dinner time, we had to queue up to get the food - school dinner style, which, considering several of the travellers were using walking sticks and crutches was not ideal. The soup was cold. The main course was a choice of shepherds pie( mince) or Chiili (mince). The following night the soup was hot, and much better, but the main course choice was lasagne ( mince - made with the previous night's left over chilli) and pasta bolognaise (mince again)

On the third night we had a really nice, hot soup, and a very good roast dinner, so they obviously can produce good food - it's just a shame they can't do it consistently.

Breakfast was a real bun fight, with two coach loads of people all trying to get into a very small space to deal with everything being self service, and there was no variety at all.

We have travelled with the holiday company before, and had a far better standard of food in similar hotels. I do think it's a shame, as the rooms were spacious and clean, and all the staff tried very hard to be helpful. I can only hope that the coach trips are a new venture, and they will iron out the problems soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolS1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

Thank you for your comments in relation to your stay, we always welcome feedback to ensure we meet guest’s expectations.
As you said in your comments your stay with us was part of a coach trip booked by a third party company, this company instruct us with what to offer but we do try as a company to prepare the best and most fresh food on the market and although the dishes mentioned do contain mince they are in their individual right separate meals each with their own distinctive flavours and ingredients.
The meal as you rightly pointed out was served buffet style as booked by the coach company but as we do for any guest who has any sort of disability staying with us, we will always ensure that they are served at the table if we are alerted to them requiring assistance.
With your feedback given, we will of course be in discussion with the coach company to try and adapt the menu selection to ensure better customer comments.
Breakfast is a self serve area and I understand your frustration with the amount of people all attempting to get food and us making every effort to accommodate and after your feedback and with the tour guides not staggering their breakfast times as they should have, we have put into action at a hotel level a breakfast host to combat issues of guests all coming down together from coach parties.
I would like to thank you for your compliments in relation to the staff and our hotel and if you are travelling in the area in the future we would look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This hotel was chosen for family & friends to stay at from across the country for a family wedding.

A small discount was given (as we had a big[ish] party), which was very much appreciated. The hotel was so clean and although having been open for over a year, still has a very new feeling.

The staff couldn't do enough for us - nothing was too much trouble! The hotel is very easy to find as it's just off the motorway set amongst a quiet residential area.

This hotel comes HIGHLY recommended.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamsmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to feedback about your stay with us. The team are proud of our hotel and the service we provide and your feedback gives us great encouragement! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Stayed on night here on the way north - booked late and got a very good price. The hotel is just off the motorway and yet is in a very quiet location - no traffic noise at all which makes a change these days. The fastest checkin I think I have ever had at HIE - and a really pleasant young lady called Megan was very welcoming. The hotel looks brand new, but has been open nearly two years. Usual high standard bed and room, and the bathroom has the blue night light which is useful. We needed to go shopping in Burnley and Megan was printing us a map and writing directions as we asked where to go, before we asked for her to do it. Breakfast is the usual HIE, and although we were down not too late - an hour to go - they had run out of some things. Very nice lad on the buffet was apologetic and when the croissants did come out of the oven, he came round the tables offering them and apologising again. Nevertheless it was a nice place to stay and a good find as it is convenient and cheaper than a lot of HIEs on the way north. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Thankyou for your feedback about your stay with us. I will certainly pass on your lovely coments to the staff members mentioned. We always endeavour to provide a good service and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Chose this hotel for a business trip to Blackburn based on the reviews and was not disappointed.
The hotel is a typical Holiday Inn Express and seems to be fairly new. Everything was spotless, the beds are comfortable and the staff friendly and efficient. The only downsides are the location (in the middle of nowhere) and the typical "express breakfast".
Pros:
- Nice clean hotel
- Comfortable, well equipped rooms
- Very friendly and helpful staff.
- Low rates available
Cons:
- Location (not much to see/do in Burnley)
- Breakfast does not offer a great variety of food

I would definitely consider this hotel again when travelling to the area next time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. We welcome your reviews and any feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

New hotel in convenient location. Adequate car parking. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms very clean and functional. Bed comfortable and enjoyed a quiet night. Good internet at reasonable rate. Breakfast basic but OK and typical of this type of hotel. Overall, would recommend this for both business and leisure travellers. Good value.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Many thanks for the feedback about your stay with us. The team are proud of our hotel and your comments are much appreciated! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews