We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soulless, isolated and grim food; clean rooms and good showers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Reviewed November 27, 2009

The M65 strip through Lancashire is completely devoid of any reasonably priced (less than £100 per night) good hotels. This is as good as it gets!
The hotel is new, the rooms are clean, and the showers are very good.
I have a major customer in Nelson so have tried everwhere! I have stayed here on about ten different occasions in 2009 - until my priority points ran out (earned in the Holiday Inn, Palmdale USA - now thats a really nice hotel - cheaper too - see my review on that) I would certainly not pay the full asking rate.
There is no free internet in the rooms - even for Platinum members.
The hotel is isolated at the bottom of a steep hill on the edge of the M65. There is nowhere to walk out to, and nothing to do in the evenings - so depressing.
The limited menu food is very poor quality and expensive, likewise the bar.
The room TV is just the free channels.
But... there is nowhere else nearby - I now stay at Eves Hall in West Bradford, Clitheroe - bags of atmosphere, good bar, excellent full service restaurant , and the room is only £45.00 per night. The morning drive over Pendle Hill to Nelson is uplifting and breath taking - well worth the 15 miles roud trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scragga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Trip advisor.
I am sorry that you have felt the hotel has not amounted to your expectations whilst staying with us.
Can i advise that since your last stay in August we have now added that Platinum Priority Club members can enjoy complimentary hard wired and wifi in their rooms, we do of course still offer complimentary wifi in the public areas.
We have always offered along with the extensive free to air channels, a large selection of pay per view movies and we also offer a multimedia package where for £9.99 you can have unlimited movies and internet (obviously the internet element would be removed with Platinum members).
Being a Holiday Inn Express we are bound by certain standards where we can only offer a limited menu within our properties, we are though after doing comparative price checks competitively priced for our market and i am pleased to offer further menu items now on a rotating basis.
Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and with the information provided, that we can accommodate you in the future.
Yours Sincerely
Kim Eivind Krohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Burnley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 498 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2009

My partner and I stayed here so we could attend a family party, the hotel is immaculate throughout and the rooms are comfortable and spacious. All the staff are a credit to the hotel, very knowledgeable about the local area and nothing is too much trouble but I make special mention of the night staff Peter and Damien who were not only friendly and down to earth but were also a laugh a minute making our trip all the more enjoyable, I will not hesitate to stay here again and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sullivanp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2009

Thank you for your recent comments on TripAdvisor.com regarding Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 Jct 10, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

It’s great to receive comments of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our hotel and staff’s efforts and takes the time to share these views.

I have forwarded your praise to all members of staff with special mention to Peter and Damian.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 Jct 10

Kim Eivind Krohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Love it here! We have stayed now on 3 seperate occasions. The service you get from beginning to end is second to none. If you are lucky you can get cheap rates on their website, for example we stayed 2 nights last weekend for $40 per night. If you sign up to priority club (free) you get free newspaper every morning, and super-speed check-in. The rooms themseves are wonderfully spacious. When we booked the room for 2 adults and one child, I didnt expect the sofa bed made up on arrival (certainly not something that would happen at travelodge). The bathrooms are wonderful, the power showers to die for with mood lighting. Nothing is too much for them, when my husband called down to see if they had razors, they gave him a ittle pack with razors and pierre cardin shaving cream. That sums up this hotel really!

I left my wedding and engagement rings in my room, and didnt realise until 2 days later (i know!) and when I called they had them locked away in the safe. Another example of how this hotel go above and beyond. Everyone is friendly and obviously enjoy working there.

The breakfast is great - a selection of breads and rolls, cereals, coffee, tea, juices... very satisfying.

If I had to find a negative I would say the in room entertainment is a bit expensive, I would have thought Wi-fi would be free, but this is just a tiny glitch on an otherwise perfect hotel!

P.S. one little touch I loved was that they give you a selection of pillows and label them firm or soft!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chubski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2009

Thank you for your recent comments on TripAdvisor.com regarding Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 Jct 10, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

It’s great to receive comments of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our hotel and staff’s efforts and takes the time to share these views.

Please be advised that although internet is chargeable in the rooms there is complimentary wifi in the public areas, also we do have an entertainment package at £9.99 which includes unlimited movies and internet.

I hope this information only goes further to affirm your views of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Once again, thank you for your comments and thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 Jct 10

Kim Eivind Krohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

This hotel is situated just off Junction 10 of the M65 and close to Burnley town centre.This hotel is convenient if visiting this part of Lancashire or West Yorkshire.
This hotel is fairly new and all bedrooms are well appointed and have Samsung flat screen tv`s. We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions in the past when visiting the area for both business and pleasure.
Breakfast is the usual continental style and very satisfying. The hotel also provides a restricted menu in the evening.
We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2009

Thank you for your recent comments on TripAdvisor.com regarding Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 Jct 10, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your stay.

It’s great to receive comments of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our hotel and staff’s efforts and takes the time to share these views.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 Jct 10

Kim Eivind Krohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We where visiting friends, this was our first visit to Burnley. We could not fault this hotel loved the room especially the bathroom every area in the hotel was immaculate, thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast , the staff where efficient, very welcoming & all seemed to be extremely happy in their work which can only be good. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2009

Thank you for your recent comments on TripAdvisor.com regarding Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 Jct 10, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your stay.

It’s great to receive comments of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our hotel and staff’s efforts and takes the time to share these views.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 Jct 10

Kim Eivind Krohn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

this is a new build holiday inn express fresh, modern with plenty of free car parking. if you're driving dont use the holiday inn web site postcode as your satnav is unlikley to recognise it mine didnt and staff at checkin said its a common problem. thye gave me a postcode for some houses accross the road which works fine to locate the hotel. the postcode they gave we was BB120PA, enjoy

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrison9England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The rooms were tup to the usual Holiday Inn Express standard, which means clean and conforatable. Breakfast was also up to scratch except that they'd managed to burn the croissants. We had drinks in the bar, whcih were reasonably priced and there was ample car parking. As the hotel is air-conditioned (a bonus for HI express), the rooms were quiet.

It's also fairly easy to find.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Burnley
Travelodge Burnley
#6 of 6 in Burnley
138 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Burnley
346 reviews
8.0 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
280 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burnley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burnley

Address: 55 Pendle Way | just off the M65 J10, Burnley BB12 0TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range: $67 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burnley 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 J10 has 102 self contained modern bedrooms which all come equipped with direct dial phones, high speed internet access , 26' LCD TVs, Freeview, satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, air conditioning and power showers. The Holiday Inn Express Burnley has 4 up to date dedicated meeting rooms equipped with high-speed Internet access, tea & coffee facilities, LCD screens with direct data connection, natural daylight and air conditioning. At the Holiday Inn Express Burnley a complimentary Continental breakfast is included for all guests, a limited evening menu is available. Burnley s countryside is a living mosaic of woods, farmland and waterways with over four hundred kilometers of cycleways, bridleways and footpaths leading from the South Pennine Moors to the Calder and Ribble Valleys in the shadow of Pendle Hill.Please note: this is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burnley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Hotel Burnley
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing