We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Chester-le-Street, Co. Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We just spent a night in this hotel & really can't find much to complain about. It was very clean & comfortable, the food was fine, staff were really nice & very helpful. There's an outside area for dining or simply enjoying the fresh air too x

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGSM_Burnley, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is important to us and it is great to hear that you enjoyed our services. We do hope that you will stay with us again should you be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    183
    97
    26
    18
See reviews for
107
128
33
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

a clean and tidy HI Express, with very good service, friendly & helpful staff, and nice rooms (except the tiny bathrooms, you can barely dry yourself with a towel).
I would urge anyone to avoid the restaurant food though, what I had was truly dire.
I have never had good food in a HI Express, anywhere.
There are a few restaurants within a mile or so.

Avoid any rooms on the M65 motorway side, the noise is loud & intrusive. I switched across to the other side and it was silent.

Breakfasts- acceptable if you stick to yogurts, cereal, juice, fruit; but the hot food was awful. Scrambled egg completely dried up and in small marble shapes, beans that were congealed and warm only, cooked tomatoes that were dry and overdone, sausages not hot either.
Come on, Holiday Inn - you simply MUST sort out the poor quality food offerings in the Express hotels. Its just not good enough.

Room Tip: Avoid the motorway side and mention this when booking. A high floor can leave you waiting a while f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jussafax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a spa break deal at Woodland spa. Hotel was great, clean, friendly staff, good breakfast, comfy beds quiet room. Just the ticket. Stayed here with my daughter and it was a great location to get to the spa. Good taxi service to and from hotel Street Cars. Cheap and reliable

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fletcherviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGSM_Burnley, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and those of the Woodland Spa, we work very closely with the spa and it is always nice to hear feedback that reflects both parties.Once again thanks for your comments and we hope to welcome you back here in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable and exactly what you'd expect.
Bafflingly, the sofa bed was also made up so we had two double beds. No idea why, Maybe all couples visiting burnley end up arguing?
The breakfast was fine, staff were fine. All just fine.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGSM_Burnley, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Apologies for such a late review but just to give feedback on what was a fantastic stay at the hotel. We were visiting a friend who lived nearby and there was 3 of us to one room. Sadly this meant one of the party was sleeping on a camp bed/sofa bed for the night - of which we were not aware of prior to arriving at the hotel. However, the price was very reasonable and for 1 night it met our needs perfectly. One thing that would be good in rooms is an extra mirror! When there are lots of you getting ready it can be a nightmare trying to share 2 small mirrors! We had a comfortable night sleep and breakfast was also good the next morning and a nice addition. We are often going up to Burnley to see our friend and it's certainly a hotel we would use again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGSM_Burnley, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Many thanks for writing a review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you will visit us again. With regards to the sofa bed, we do only recommend that they are suitable for children and I am sorry to learn that this was not clear to you when making your booking. Once again thans for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Get what you pay for and it's well worth the money, clean tidy and great staff, very nice room well presented and all could want.

Being an express it's for the on the road traveler and not a long stay .

But great for what it is

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGSM_Burnley, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and we hope to welcome you back here in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed with my partner and new baby on 9th-11th April
Female staff on reception the first night was very approachable and friendly -- supplied us with a shower cap as soon as we asked
Found the travel cot in the room already set up with a sheet and blanket which was very helpful after a long time travelling
The room was spacious, tidy and clean.
Second night we had a problem with the inbuilt hairdryer melting and setting alight during use. But again, male member of staff was fast responding to our room with a spare hair dryer (without me having asked for it) -- This was in room 107 (in case the hairdryer situation was forgotten about and not fixed)
Continental breakfast was good enough for me, plenty of hot and cold drinks to choose from, and I really enjoyed the croissants. Lovely to have a hot choice as well as cereal (sausage, beans and scrambled egg)

One thing that could be improved on, is the maning of the reception. I was stood waiting for somebody to be there for a good few minutes and two seperate occasions on the final morning

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaT90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGSM_Burnley, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We pride ourselves on our service levels and it is great to hear feedback that reflects this. Once again thanks for your comments and we hope to welcome you and your family back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
1.0 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burnley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burnley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Address: 55 Pendle Way | just off the M65 J10, Burnley BB12 0TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burnley 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 J10 has 102 self contained modern bedrooms which all come equipped with direct dial phones, high speed internet access , 26' LCD TVs, Freeview, satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, air conditioning and power showers. The Holiday Inn Express Burnley has 4 up to date dedicated meeting rooms equipped with high-speed Internet access, tea & coffee facilities, LCD screens with direct data connection, natural daylight and air conditioning. At the Holiday Inn Express Burnley a complimentary Continental breakfast is included for all guests, a limited evening menu is available. Burnley s countryside is a living mosaic of woods, farmland and waterways with over four hundred kilometers of cycleways, bridleways and footpaths leading from the South Pennine Moors to the Calder and Ribble Valleys in the shadow of Pendle Hill.Please note: this is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burnley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Hotel Burnley
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing