We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality budget hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Not much hotel choice in Burnley! That said the HIE on Pendle Way is fine.

Staff
Friendly and attentive.

Rooms
Clean and fresh. Working AC, but our bed had collapsed in the middle (room 327). I forgot to tell the management.

Breakfast
Good choice and free. The food however is self served from what is little more than a cupboard. Two way traffic carrying food through a door is not good. A linear buffet would work so much better. Also running out of cups and plates is a bit poor.
That said, it's decent enough grub and FOC.

Summary
Will always stay here when visiting Burnley.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwebb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 513 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved this place! Got a good deal for three nights and arrived to a lovely girl on reception who made us feel very welcome.

Our room was clean and a good size, with a modern bathroom. The bed dipped a bit in the middle but good excuse for a cuddle!

The room was facing the motorway which was noisy with the window open but as the rooms have air-con you don't need to open it and we slept like babies every night.

Breakfast was good, plenty of cereals, pastries, fruit, yogurts, sausages, scrambled eggs etc.

Location was fantastic, loads of parking, absolutely nothing bad to say!

Room Tip: Book a room on the car park side if you sleep with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Good afternoon
Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will certainly make sure the team are aware of your comments. We hope to welcome you back again very soon
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I used this hotel recently on a visit to see family and friends who live in the Burnley area, and found it to be very good. The hotel is really easy to get to, well sign posted from the M65 and is great to use as a base for visiting nearby towns. Complimentary breakfast and wi-fi was a huge bonus and the hotel was very clean and tidy. The facilities were excellent - a powerful, hot shower, nice room in the bathroom and with a genius door which enabled one person to use the toilet whilst still leaving the bathroom free for the other to use. If I have a criticism (and it is a small one) the room that the "help yourself" breakfast (which was excellent, by the way!) was served in got very crowded at peak times, but we sorted that out by going down for breakfast earlier after our first morning at the hotel! I will be using this hotel again when I visit my family and friends in the North West.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again very soon
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Used this hotel to see family and as a base for a flight to and from Manchester Airport. Hotel is in a great location, 10 minutes from town and 2-3 minutes from the M65 motorway.

The Holiday Inn is modern and clean, with well equipped rooms. My only gripe was with the mattress, which I found to be too soft.

Breakfast was good, with plenty of choices.

I would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We cannot fault this Hotel. The staff were excellent, the rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast had a fantastic selection which would suit anyone's taste. We stayed for one night ( 13th August) and had 2 rooms - twin and double. Both were great. The Internet connection was super fast as well. The hotel is close to the motorway but we found the rooms very quiet, so no problem with the location. We had dinner at the hotel and found the menu & prices were also very reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for posting a response. I will certainly pass your comments to the team and we would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip to Burnley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night as we were in town for the Bolton v Burnley match.
Room was spotless & pretty big with a double bed and sofa bed.
We ate in the bar and the food was ok, if a little overpriced.
The free breakfast is a bonus, everything you could want for the perfect start to the day! Toast, croissants, fresh fruit & yogurts, preserves, hot drinks plus juices & water. Sausages, beans & scrambled eggs...not bad for FREE!
We would definitely use this hotel again if we were in the area.
Also, the nearby Towneley Hall museum & gardens is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for posting a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We look foreard to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

staff nice, room good, air conditioning was a bonus, breakfast was very good plenty of choice, bed was ok but the mattress sank in to the middle, which made it feel i was either facing downhill or uphill ,cleanliness was ok except under the bed, which was filthy which I saw when checking if I had left anything, the shower was invigorating.
Thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyjeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
1 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Burnley
361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Burnley
Travelodge Burnley
#6 of 6 in Burnley
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
8 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
298 reviews
6 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burnley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burnley

Address: 55 Pendle Way | just off the M65 J10, Burnley BB12 0TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range: $64 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burnley 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 J10 has 102 self contained modern bedrooms which all come equipped with direct dial phones, high speed internet access , 26' LCD TVs, Freeview, satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, air conditioning and power showers. The Holiday Inn Express Burnley has 4 up to date dedicated meeting rooms equipped with high-speed Internet access, tea & coffee facilities, LCD screens with direct data connection, natural daylight and air conditioning. At the Holiday Inn Express Burnley a complimentary Continental breakfast is included for all guests, a limited evening menu is available. Burnley s countryside is a living mosaic of woods, farmland and waterways with over four hundred kilometers of cycleways, bridleways and footpaths leading from the South Pennine Moors to the Calder and Ribble Valleys in the shadow of Pendle Hill.Please note: this is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burnley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Hotel Burnley
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing