We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff here would benefit from Premier Inn's staff training course”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Staff here would benefit from Premier Inn's staff training course”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My last 7 room nights have been in Premier Inns, normally my second choice from HIEX, but they just happened to be located where I needed to be. Coming back to a HIEX and having an unsatisfactory check in with indifferent front desk staff was very disappointing. During my last 7 nights in Premier Inns I found the reception staff to be universally friendly and welcoming, just what you need after a long day and/or a long drive. Not so at HIEX Burnley I'm afraid. I appreciate they also have to serve in the bar next to reception which must be tedious for them, but they all look and act like they'd rather be somewhere else. Apart from that it was the standard HIEX experience; clean and comfortable room, poor breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirCooledHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Good evening
I am really sorry to read of your disappointment following your recent stay. I am really concerned that this is not the first time that you have left a review raising concerns in the level of service you have received here in Burnley. Customer service is very important to us and the hotel is currenly taking part in a global program lmonitoring guest feedback ,therefore if you would be good enough to contact me at the hotel or email me at kerian@starboardhotels.com I will be more than happy to investigate the points you have raised with the members of the team involved.
I look forward to hearing from you at your convenience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    182
    95
    26
    18
See reviews for
107
128
33
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Hotel seemed very new and all areas were pleasant and clean. However, it is fairly isolated so you are obliged to eat at the hotel. The breakfast was adequate as I am happy with cereal and toast. The only hot food was sausage, scrambled egg and beans. The menu for the evening meal was very disappointing. I think it was stuff that could be microwaved or stuck in the oven. There was not even a steak available. I mentioned my disappointment with the restaurant when checking out but no one seemed really bothered. Don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for posting a review, the menu in the evening is very limited although we do change it every three months. There is generally a range of local special dishes which provide some variety for our regular guests. Depending on the dish which was selected it may have been a dish cooked in the oven and unfortunatly we do not have a griddle facility to cook steaks at this point in time.
Holiday Inn Express are very limited in what is allowed to be offered, there are brand standard guidelines but we do review these based on the feed back from our guests and hopefully these will change shortly.

I hope that this does not deter you from staying with us again should you be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

First the good: The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly.

Now the bad:
(1) The bed was such poor quality that no matter which way I turned there were springs jutting out at every angle. I had a terrible night's sleep.
(2) Breakfast was abysmally poor... think cheap quality produce, overcooked and left under heatlamps for far too long.
(3) Massive overuse of fluorescent lighting in the foyer creates a harsh, glare-filled ambience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. Iam sorry you did not get a good nights sleep we are in the process of replacing some beds. The breakfast is based on a continental offer. We have just changed suppliers and we will review the quality in light of your feedback.
Regads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed Saturday night with my daughter following a day at Woodland Spa. At £49 for a twin I don't think you could beat it. Rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable bedding with full tea/coffee making facilities and a very nice bathroom. We got complimentary breakfast which was perfectly adequate with a choice of cereals, fruits, breads and a few hot items e.g. sausages, scrambled eggs and beans. All in all much better than other budget hotels and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for placing a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for 1 night whilst visiting the nearby Woodland Spa. At £49 for a saturday night for B&B, we found it to be excellent value. Close to the motorway. Basic but all you need for a short stay. Breakfast, not vast but ok. Check in/out very easy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittyf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerian B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the holidayin express for 3nights with my grandchildren This hotel was lovely comfortable and clean,they even had an ice machine witch was great as it was very humid.The staff were very helpfull and polite at all times i would recomend this hotel for anyone wishing a quite peacefull break.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Cheap efficient and basic low cost hotel. Made a good stay with the friendly excellent staff. Room is to a modern basic standard. Breakfast was adequate and a bit chaotic, it's purely self service, but there was plenty to go around. Will happily stay there again when next time we visit family and friends

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CornwallReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Burnley Hotel
1.0 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Burnley
318 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burnley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burnley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Address: 55 Pendle Way | just off the M65 J10, Burnley BB12 0TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burnley 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 J10 has 102 self contained modern bedrooms which all come equipped with direct dial phones, high speed internet access , 26' LCD TVs, Freeview, satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, air conditioning and power showers. The Holiday Inn Express Burnley has 4 up to date dedicated meeting rooms equipped with high-speed Internet access, tea & coffee facilities, LCD screens with direct data connection, natural daylight and air conditioning. At the Holiday Inn Express Burnley a complimentary Continental breakfast is included for all guests, a limited evening menu is available. Burnley s countryside is a living mosaic of woods, farmland and waterways with over four hundred kilometers of cycleways, bridleways and footpaths leading from the South Pennine Moors to the Calder and Ribble Valleys in the shadow of Pendle Hill.Please note: this is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burnley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Hotel Burnley
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing