We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value basic hotel, watch out for parking fee!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Bradford
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value basic hotel, watch out for parking fee!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel is very nice, clean modern and friendly.
The food is basic, but a decent quality.
Room was clean and in a good condition.
All the staff were friendly.
My only complaint is the sneaky £5 car parking fee, which was at no point mentioned. You could quite easily park off site, it's not a city centre hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPHBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto Trip Advisor.
The £5.00 parking charge you refer to was only in relation to a special promotion that was being offered through Groupon, we always work in the car parking cost into our rates but with this heavily discounted offer we did have to charge car parking and this was stated at the time of booking in the fine print.

At all other times, we do offer complimentary parking to all our guests as standard.

May I thank you also for your praise of the team and hotel here in Burnley and I do hope to welcome you back in the future

Regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    190
    98
    28
    18
See reviews for
112
132
33
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Nice hotel, clean, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast nice and great location. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azhiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for your comments placed. It provides great encouragement for the team and ownership of the hotel. We will continue to strive to be the best hotel in Burnley.
Thank you again

Regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

A very good hotel, and a good base particularly for motorway access. Well kept and fairly new hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, we truly value your custom and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Spacious family room, very clean and modern hotel. Staff at reception excellent. Fantastic value for money, around the £50 mark for the room including breakfast for four people! Breakfast nothing special, toast, sausages, scrambled egg and drinks but at this price who am I to grumble! Would definitely return for overnight stop again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thank you for your comments about us on Trip Advisor.
What a joy it was to read your response about us, comments like this confirm to myself and my team that what we are doing is right and we will continue to strive to be the best hotel in Burnley.
Many Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I was very pleased with the standard of accomodation at the hotel and found the room to be spacious and comfortable. However I have to make it clear that I was the only guest in a double room and therefore I am unsure as to how roomy it would have seemed if two guests had shared the room. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of pillows, there was a variety of lamps etc, and there was sufficient wardrobe space. The bathroom was well designed and the shower was fantastic.

The problem was the disapointing food. As I was part of a group the evening meal was part of the package. Whilst I was not expecting a 5 star menu I was expecting a nice meal. The soup was unedible and watery, the main meal consisted of either lasagne or shepherds pie with frozen chips and peas and the desert was a small slice of cheese cake. I and some others of the group attempted to find a restaraunt nearby as we were still hungry but with no success. The cost of drinks and chocolate/crisps was very expensive ( please note not all guests are on business and cannot reclaim expenses). The breakfast the following morning was a little better, however as there were two coach parties in and the breakfast times had not been staggered there were huge queues.

On the whole I would probably recomend the hotel because of the standard and cleanliness of the rooms, but please Holiday Inn Express try to address the food issue.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StokeSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am sorry that you feel the food whilst you stayed with us was not to your satisfaction, we always strive to deliver wholesome home cooked meals to all our guests and whilst running with this new summer menu as detailed to us by the coach operator we have had no negative feedback.
The dinner was served to yourselves buffet style and guests are always welcome to have portion sizes to their wishes and further helpings if they wish.
I will of course address the soup issue to help keep the high standards we have at our hotel and will address meal issue with the tour operator.
On a final note i wish to thank you for your positive overall comments about my team and the hotel and i do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel if you are ever in this area.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes,
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My husband has stayed here lots on business but this time we were on a social trip to Burnley. The hotel itself is very clean, staff very helpful. We had booked using the points so the value bit is a bit hard to judge but we had booked a family room as we have a 7 month old and the sofa bed had been set up (presumably for a child). As there was a big party in, nobody was able to come and fold it away to make room for the cot so we were offered an alternative room. This was a relief as we were in the first room as you enterered from the lift on the second floor. I mentioned to the receptionist that she had said about the large group and could we move to where it might be quieter. She kindly put us at the end of a corridor. Sadly our neighbours had some volume control issues at 1am but the hotel is absolutely fine!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claypole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thank you for your returning custom to our hotel and your positive feedback in relation to the hotel and my team.
I am pleased to hear that we responded to your needs on check in and i am sorry that your neighbour was a little noisy but please be assured that in any circumstance just pick up the phone and we will do all we can to resolve a situation.
I look forward to welcomg you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Third time we have stayed here, and never disappointed. All staff are helpful and make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peanhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimKrohn, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burnley, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
I wish to thank you for your time by placing your comments about us on Trip Advisor.
Your comments go a long way to motivate the team here in Burnley to continue to strive to give the best experience a guest can have whilst staying away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnley
1.8 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Burnley
Travelodge Burnley
#6 of 6 in Burnley
136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Burnley
335 reviews
8.0 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
266 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Burnley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Burnley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Burnley
Address: 55 Pendle Way | just off the M65 J10, Burnley BB12 0TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Burnley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burnley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Burnley 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Burnley M65 J10 has 102 self contained modern bedrooms which all come equipped with direct dial phones, high speed internet access , 26' LCD TVs, Freeview, satellite TV, tea & coffee facilities, air conditioning and power showers. The Holiday Inn Express Burnley has 4 up to date dedicated meeting rooms equipped with high-speed Internet access, tea & coffee facilities, LCD screens with direct data connection, natural daylight and air conditioning. At the Holiday Inn Express Burnley a complimentary Continental breakfast is included for all guests, a limited evening menu is available. Burnley s countryside is a living mosaic of woods, farmland and waterways with over four hundred kilometers of cycleways, bridleways and footpaths leading from the South Pennine Moors to the Calder and Ribble Valleys in the shadow of Pendle Hill.Please note: this is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Burnley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Hotel Burnley
Holiday Inn Express Burnley Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing