We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Badly in need of major renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Badly in need of major renovation”
Reviewed July 13, 2008

I have been a visitor to the Last Drop Village for many years. My Wedding Reception was held there over 20 years ago and I have enjoyed my return trips. Typically they centre around a nice meal or just a wander around the village shops.

I was recently invited to a Wedding beig held in the Last Drop and decided my wife and I should stay for the two nights prior to and following the wedding.

I booked several weeks ago via laterooms.com - received a favourable room rate and was looking forward to a few nights away.

Sadly this last experience was very disappointing.

The whole complex is now looking very old, in need of a total facelift and several million pounds spent on it. The shops are still very nice to visit, the restaurant is still pleasant, but very over priced and the rooms are very shabby now.

On arrival at around 6pm on the first night I was told the only room they had available was a smoking one - although I had booked many weeks in advance and had requested a non smoking room.

It was within the small court yard area beyond the restaurant. It was right next to the cleaners store room. It wasn't too far away from the 'Drop Inn', which on a Friday now has 'loud' music blasting from the doorway ...

I had complained about the fact I couldn't have a non-smoking room .. not much they could do I was told - nothing else available - I could be moved to a nearby hotel?

The Friday night meal was very nice, but very expensive - didn't bother with the breakfasts.

The event in the Pennine suite was fabulous.

On checking out on the Sunday morning I was offered a 40 pound reduction on my bill.

Sadly, it seems since the Accor group took over the Last Drop from the MacDonald Hotels group the standards have dropped.

I will visit again if only for the village shops and maybe the odd snack in the Tea Rooms, but I don't think I will be staying overnight there again for the foreeseable future

Very sad ...

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l1am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    458
    312
    178
    130
See reviews for
376
511
51
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

We've just got back from a night at this hotel and I have to say I was a little apprehensive about going after reading some of the bad reviews on this site. All I can say is that they must have stayed at a different hotel to the one we stayed at because we had a great time. We'd booked a 2 for the price of 1 through our local paper and paid £109.95 for the night. For this we got a lovely large room with a spotless bathroom and a really comfortable bed, a 3 course dinner with an excellent choice of dishes and a great breakfast. Add to this the use of the leisure facilities - a good sized proper swimming pool ( not some of the odd shaped things you sometimes find in hotels) a "hot tub" that had an open front looking out over the countryside and saunas and a steamroom not to mention the gym. They had at least two weddings on when we arrived but we were dealt with straight away by a very pleasant young lady on reception. O K so were were 20 minutes late being given our table in the restaurant - they were very busy with a couple of large tables- but we had a lovely comfy sofa in the bar and an excellent glass of wine so that was hardly a real problem !!!! The food was excellent as was the breakfast next morning. I can only speak for our experience but we would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Liked — facilities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artisanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I recently stayed at the Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel and Spa as I was attending a conference there. I managed to find a good deal on the Mercure website - £59 for bed and breakfast. However, had I paid anymore than this, I'd have been very disappointed. Basically, the accommodation is barely better than an overpriced Travelodge.

The hotel itself is in desparate need of refurbishment. My room - located in an outside courtyard - was very tired looking. Fixtures and fittings were bordering on shabby and the bed itself was dressed with a very worn bedspread and sheets and blankets. I was surprised by the lack of a duvet. The blankets weren't even nice - horrible brown and looked like they hadn't been washed for years. The room was very cold - even in July. I'd hate to stay there in winter.

As a woman staying alone, I was slightly concerned to be located outside in a ground-floor room. The hotel seemed quiet and I didn't appear to have neighbours. It was quite eery being there alone. Many hotels now have a policy to ensure alone females are offered rooms on a first floor or above and in a "secure" area where other guests are nearby. Mercure could do well to follow this lead.

The catering facilities were rubbish. The restaurant was very pricey (over £16 for a main meal) and quite formal. As I didn't want to "dress for dinner" (or pay such high charges) I set out to the "Grill" pub in the grounds. I was surprised to be told that they don't do food in the evenings. This was in July (I presume high-season?). Breakfast too was mediocre. Although included in my room rate, a fellow guest commented that they'd paid over £12!! It really wasn't worth £5 let alone £12. The food wasn't fresh and choice wasn't great. Service was slow.

The hotel staff looked miserable and fed-up and were somewhat unhelpful. Personal appearance was noticably poor - many staff were wearing clothes that were so badly fitted that they looked ridiculous and many could do with learning to wash their hair.

The hotel's "saving grace" is the amazing spa facilities which you can use free of charge as a guest. There is an 18m swimming pool and then a "Thermal Spa" area. This consists of a range of steam rooms, saunas, showers, ice fountains etc. There is also a fantastic warm thermal pool that goes outdoors for amazing views of the countryside. I spent a good couple of hours there and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff in the spa were lovely and towels and lockers are provided for hotel guests so you literally just need your swimming costume. There is shampoo and hairdriers in the changing rooms.

Because of the fabulous spa, I would return again. I would just have to make sure that I get a good rate again to make up for the poor standard of accommodation.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Shabby, out of date
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KateinDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere is space & time
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

We stayed here in March 2008 for one night.
The grounds are lovely. The hotel basically comprises an 18 / 19th cenury village which is unique ! I have never experienced anything like this before. We both loved it.
Our room was in a courtyard with a pub a short walk amoung the other buildings in the Village.
I think in a nutshell this is a fine quaint place and I found the staff always friendly and helpful. Do you sence a but ?
Here it comes... it desperately needs some internal modernising. Our toilet did not flush when we first used it. A lady promptly attended when we phoned reception and it was explained that the toilet flush did work but it needed to be flushed in a certain way. Unfortunately as it was very late in the day - it was not possible to change to a different room. The room was otherwise ok, but the bathroom did smell a little unpleasant. I felt it really needed a refit and a bit of plumbing.
The food and drink was great and breakfast was fantastic. At the spa I found the saunas just did not seem to get hot - which was dissappointing. The pool extends to an open air portion - with a view of the carpark - what a let down.
I left feeling this place could have been so much more. It is a very beutiful place.

  • Liked — The novelty of the hotel actually being a village.
  • Disliked — The toilet.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THED0CT0R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

6 of us had a girlie getaway for a 40th birthday celebration. On arrival we had our overnight bags wisked away by the concierge, we had 3 rooms on the second floor above reception. Rooms were spacious and beds comfy, bathroom totally acceptable. We booked evening meal in the Drop Inn and the food was excellent, really big portions so I was quite full after the starter but tuna main course was wonderful. We booked treatments in the spa on the saturday morning, what a lovely treat, the relaxation room was exactly what is says, could have stayed there all day if it wasn't for having to check out of the room. The pool and thermal baths were lovely, we spent a few hours there after out treatments. Two weddings were being held at the hotel so it was lovely outfit spotting and ooooing and ahhhhing at the brides and bridemaids. Would say the only negative was the Cocktail bar which didn't sell cocktails or allowed to play music, bit of a disappointment so we all trundled back to a room and put the music channel on the TV, apologies to anyone in any rooms on our corridor (only 5 rooms in total and we had 3) we hope we weren't too disturbing. A lovely break was had by all. PS nice end to the overnight stay, cream teas in the tea rooms, lovely quaint shops and the bakery had a good turnover that day aswell. Well recommend the potato cakes and scones.

  • Liked — Facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolLooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Booked through Norfolk coach company.
Well we haven't got all day!!!
The service of the staff and The So Called Manager was what you would expect from a 1* hotel or basic B&B.
The food was inedible, under cooked, most evenings the food was returned untouched.
Rooms not cleaned until 3pm in the afternoon.
The Breakfast was first come first served. You had to be in at 7am or got nothing.
The Manager approached us at 10pm in the bar area, only to be told by him ' You get what you pay for!'
The TV was reported fault, but was never fixed. The door cards had to be changed on a daily basis as they never worked properly.
This hotel needs a mega overall of the staff and management.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any future travellers.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank mondeokitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bromley Cross hotels

Solihull nr Birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

We went to The Last Drop as part of a coach holiday to the north west and were rather disappointed with the hotel. The grounds are OK but the shops around the hotel were fairly uninspiring.
Our room was fine although we had problems getting some channels on the TV and the view of the heating plant were not wonderful.
The real problem was the poor service both at breakfast and dinner. It must be difficult to make a mess of breakfast but they managed it. Waiters didn't do the simple things like take drinks orders and even main course orders in a systematic way. On our last day this meant a thirty minute wait for a piece of tasty but clearly microwaved haddock. Dinner service was haphazard and the food quite ordinary. I got bored with two meals including the same vegetables and opted for a salad one evening - you'd have thought I'd asked for the world. Nonetheless it was a very nice salad when it arrived.
We did have cause for minor complaints when we were there but the magic words of apology were not uttered by the staff, just excuses which had no relevance to me as a guest.
We were disappointed with the north west but that's not the hotel's fault. All the towns seemed to merge into each other with little proper countryside to differentiate them. The Lowry interior was fine but the exterior is really rather grim. Our coach driver was told not to leave the coach unattended in the nearby car park.
We won't be rushing back.

  • Liked — The rooms were pleasant.
  • Disliked — Poor service in the dining room and bar.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromley Cross
6.5 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
5.5 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
512 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
8.1 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Property: Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Address: Hospital Road, Bromley Cross, Bolton BL7 9PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Bromley Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel is a collection of 18th-century farmhouses with 128 rooms, located on the edge of the Pennine Moors. Ideal for visiting Manchester, Bolton, Preston, Blackpool, Haydock Racecourse, Chester Zoo or the nearby Ribble Valley. 25 min from Manchester city centre and close to major road networks. Self contained conference centre accommodating up to 700 delegates. Courtyard Restaurant, Courtyard bar, Tea Shop, and Spa Naturel including indoor pool, technogym, sauna and beauty rooms. 24 hour room service, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel Bolton
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel And Spa
Last Drop Village Bolton
Last Drop Hotel Bolton
Accor Last Drop Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing