We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent fitness facilities and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fitness facilities and food”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Although the room was a little tired, it was adequate. The fitness room was well equiped and spacious; the pool area was also excellent and well maintained. The dining room was busy but well staffed and both the service and food were excellent.

Room Tip: Although there was a large wedding party at the venue, there were no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulM101058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    458
    312
    178
    130
See reviews for
376
511
51
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I am writing this review at 2.30am as i cannot sleep with what appears to be the constant sound of a generator running. Negatives so far - key card failed per other reviews, charged £2.50 for an ice bucket, a la carte menu in room not offered in restaurant but given £25 set menu, would not upgrade sweet to irish coffee as computer said NO, but would upgrade our wine per kgb
deal in the hotels favour, Radiator in bathroom stuck on like a sauna dealt with after 3 calls to reception, restaurant under staffed, tables not cleared, bath small shower not working, wi-fi £9 per day! Would recommend to a friemd with reservations.Positives - staff lovely - behavour breeds behaviour, spa really good, location excellent for walking, restaurant food yummy, room adequate for the kgb deal. Will write another review when

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetethefeetWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Overall impression was that the hotel is rather dated considering the price. We stayed in the courtyard area and were disturbed everytime a guest above used the balcony to access their rooms. We were also kept up due to wedding guests congregating loudly in the courtyard. Phoned reception to ask them to have a word yet noise remained unresolved. The spa area was not to the standard we expected with several sauna's having a very unpleasent smell and only two actually giving off any heat. It was a shame as the setting is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bromley Cross hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Great location, lovely sorrundings, very easy check in with attentive staff. Room was clean and comfy. Ate in the restuarant, lovely food but seemed abit rushed.
ha d agreat atmosphere and vibe but the weddings may have helped with this

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_gm, General Manager at Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for youir review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again at The Last drop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Last Drop Inn is set in a truly lovely setting but in general i would say that our stay was a disappointment. The room standard really varied between our party. Having not booked the room I was stunned that our room was £110 for the night. For that price I would expect a much higher standard with boutique standard rooms but unfortunately the rooms and the hotel looked dated and jaded. The room was quite dark and very hot, though one of our party had air conditioning our room did not. The extractor fan in the bathroom was very noisy and rattled rather alarmingly as did the one in the room next door which I heard every time the people in the next room turned it on. The shower curtain was old and dirty and for the price I would expect a shower screen. Oddly the room smelt of boiled cabbage a number of times.
The toilets by the bar had a cracked floor and were not pleasant.
Parts of the changing room by the swimming pool smelt of urine which was off putting.
I would agree with the other reviews here that staff varied in their willingness to help and their politeness. The reception staff were a little scary and abrupt and you did feel like just another punter. When we got back to our room after breakfast our card key for the room didn't work so we had to go back to reception. Once there we found another 6 people needing to have their cards reactivated.

Breakfast was very good - nice cooked breakfast and choice of cereal, continental style breakfast and fruit. We had a lovely walk round the village and sat outside the pub in the sun which was very pleasant.
Overall I was disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellTravelled093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_gm, General Manager at Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disturbed by the noise and that your room was in need of updating. We are in the process of updating the rooms and I am sure should you return we would be able to accommodate you in one of the more modern rooms. I hope you will visit again.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We arrived late afternoon reception was fairly busy,we didn't have to wait to long to get signed in however the receptionist spoke so fast it took a while for us to register what she was saying we felt it was a case of I have started so I will finish speal.
The card for the door to our room didn't work and we had to return to reception 3 times.
We were unable to have a table in the restaurant as it was fully booked
the area for bar meals was also full.There appeared to be a shortage of staff serving in the bar, we ended up having to drive out for food and drinks.
The room was clean and comfortable, we had a good nights sleep
Breakfast was very accommodating, good service and plenty of staff in attendance
Perhaps if we had booked the restaurant are stay would have been better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6634_gm, General Manager at Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
I am really sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced. I will be investigating this with the Managers with the view to ensure the correct staffing levels are maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Booked as part of a spa break deal that included accommodation, spa treatment & dinner.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting & the hotel grounds & surrounding views are stunning.
Booking into the hotel was quick & easy but the lady on the reception
desk was rather rude & abrupt!
We ate lunch at the Tea Room after
finding the pub closed even though
the website stated that it would
be open. Gentleman serving
lunch
was very pleasant & quickly
replaced the clotted cream that we
noticed was out of date by
2 weeks!
It was a perticulary warm day but
we were unable to buy any bottled
water anywhere in the hotel. our
helpful waiter from the Tea Room
did go in search for some but
was unable to find any. When we
arrived at the spa we were told
that complementary beverages
were available including water which ended up being walm tap water in a jug! Me & 2 other friends had booked the hot stone massage, 2 of us had the same therapist who obviously hadn't had any massage training & just rubbed her hands up & down our backs & placed the stones on for no more then 2 minutes! It was probably the worst massage I have ever had! Our other friend had a different therapist who knew what she was doing and had a totally different experience. The evening meal was faultless, food & service was excellent! In the evening we hoped to chill out in the pub but again it was closed even though it said on the website it would be open therefor the only place to have a drink was the hotel bar which as with most hotels was on the expensive side. When we checked out they tried to charge us an extra £5 for the hot stone massage (apparently this type of treatment carries an extra charge as part of the spa break deal which we was never made aware of!) we disputed this charge & the reception staff did agree to remove it. All in all we had a pleasant time & the food, room & hotel grounds are lovely but the spa was a great disappointment therefor I would recommend the hotel but not the spa.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimsmeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromley Cross
6.5 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
5.5 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
512 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
8.1 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa

Property: Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Address: Hospital Road, Bromley Cross, Bolton BL7 9PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton > Bromley Cross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bromley Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel is a collection of 18th-century farmhouses with 128 rooms, located on the edge of the Pennine Moors. Ideal for visiting Manchester, Bolton, Preston, Blackpool, Haydock Racecourse, Chester Zoo or the nearby Ribble Valley. 25 min from Manchester city centre and close to major road networks. Self contained conference centre accommodating up to 700 delegates. Courtyard Restaurant, Courtyard bar, Tea Shop, and Spa Naturel including indoor pool, technogym, sauna and beauty rooms. 24 hour room service, free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel Bolton
Mercure Last Drop Village Hotel And Spa
Last Drop Village Bolton
Last Drop Hotel Bolton
Accor Last Drop Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing