We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely romantic setting.”
Review of Birdies

Birdies
Ranked #4 of 126 Restaurants in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Beautiful French Bistro in the heart of Whitstable, full of character & charm, serving local seafood, an array of french delights & homemade deserts. Child friendly, groups & private parties welcome.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic setting.”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is our second time at Birdies, first time in the evening. We were very lucky to be given a table, as it was almost fully booked even on a quiet Monday evening in Whitstable, but the waiter/manager was very accommodating and friendly.

I would have to say that it is probably not the best food in Whitstable, but choose well and you can have a lovely meal. For example, always have the bread and olives as an appetiser - the bread is superb from the deli over the road - extremely salty, but sensational. As I had eaten a main meal earlier in the day, I had the soup starter as a main meal, and it was a wonderfully smoky seafood bisque - and joy of joys they offered me another portion of bread to go with it!

My girlfriend's sea bass was adequate, if not sensational, and the desserts (chocolate brownie, and ice cream) both very good.

Add to that a lovely romantic ambience as the restaurant was candlelit on a mild summer evening, and overall it was a very memorable evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donkey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    220
    59
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We like Birdies!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We only found Birdies by chance whilst enjoying a day in Whitstable.
The welcome was warming; and the menu was 'from the blackboard'
It was a meal with flavour and flair.
We can recommend you consider Birdies when you want to eat well in Whitstable.
Thank you Birdies; you finished our day on a high.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADE_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed......again”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

OK,we have lived in Whitstable for 26yrs and we have been to Birdies on 4 occasions now with significant gaps between those visits and have never had a good meal.We just don't get it......love the look of the place, always inviting as you wander by but the food is poor , tasteless (Scallops , Prawns and Beef Wellington) and overpriced.The staff are obviously not trained in any significant way and lack the knowledge to provide a proper level of service.Never say never but not sure we will bother in future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birdies,is Bliss”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had several meals at Birdies and each visit has been great.Great menu and well cooked food
A small restaurant with a big heart. Friendly staff. A visit to Whitstable would not be complete if you miss this little delight.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sedgKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Favourite of the locals.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place lacks the fame of some Whitstable eateries but it is in no way inferior and it tends to fill up with locals which is in itself a commendation.
We had an excellent lunch from a short, good value menu. Its a bit quirky but the atmosphere is pleasant with good ingredients cooked with real competence. It was a better experience than some of the bigger names in Whitstable. Well worth a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bristol407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birdies also viewed

 

Been to Birdies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing