We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheelers Oyster Bar

Wheelers Oyster Bar
Ranked #1 of 121 Restaurants in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A sea food restaurant overing a vast selection of sea food, from a al la carte menu to take away seafood. We are BYO drinks and we don't charge corkage.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

About third time we have visited. We booked late so got a spot at the bar, which is fun so do not let that put you off (and book early as it is very small). All food was outstanding, as usual, dishes incorporate traditional ingredients but with a twist eg some Asian inspiration in my salmon starter. BYO so works out very reasonable indeed. Great atmosphere, service and food, what else do you need!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spanishkathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    117
    43
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henlow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I booked late but managed to get a 17.00 slot in the restuarant last Friday not really knowing what I had let us in for. One of the nice things about Wheelers is that it is not licensed so you take your own bottle ( bottles). This saves money on the booze allowing for more to be spent on the excellent food. We had arrived in town early and I asked if they would put my fizz in their fridge until our time arrived and they kindly did. The staff were very helpful and attentive throughout. Having said that the place is tiny and keeping an eye on the customers is not difficult. The menu is about right, not too many dishes that you know cannot be cooked fresh but enough on there to make it hard to choose. Lovely meal in an unusual setting. I will be going back in the future as I enjoyed it but if you do not like fish this is definately not your place.
I would give this full marks except for the toilet. Not good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I don't know if this place is related to the wheelers chain but but it is very good and staff helpful and attentive. If you love oysters come here because they do them every which way you can imagine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TJS123Rochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Snack at the front bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stopped in on the off chance of getting a quick snack and managed to sit in the front bar area. We had some lovely oysters which shallot vinegar! They were very tasty. Lots of cold seafood snacks up until 1pm I think! Definitely worth dropping in! You can also bring in your own alcohol if you like.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb dining and unique venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had no idea what to expect and was blown away with this cosy dining experience. The staff were delightful and I have to say on this occasion so were the other guests who were very friendly.

The food was cooked to perfection as would be expected in any genuine seafood restaurant and the menu listed fish not seen often.

Taking our own wine was a real plus.

My friend and I enjoyed this thoroughly..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank korron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheelers Oyster Bar also viewed

Whitstable, Kent
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to Wheelers Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing