We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow !”
other travelers have booked this property
On the top deck at Shell Ness
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
On the top deck at Shell Ness
Off street parking for 2-3 cars and on-street parking space in surrounding roads Comfortable living space, TV, Blue Ray / CD player and WiFi. Gas fire for cool summer evenings!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
On the top deck at Shell Ness
Off street parking for 2-3 cars and on-street parking space in surrounding roads
Comfortable living space, TV, Blue Ray / CD player and WiFi. Gas fire for cool summer evenings!
Modern kitchen with granite/steel worktops. Includes wine fridge, dishwasher and Nespresso machine.
Dining table for 12, full length windows with beach views from the first floor. Gas BBQ on the deck.
Cosy evenings 'eating in' with fabulous sea views of the sea and the sunset.
The modern kitchen or the BBQ, what a dilemma?
A view in the mirror
Master bedroom with Superking bed
Double aspect twin room with sun streaming in during the afternoon.
King-size bedroom with sea view and access to private deck
Downstairs en suite shower room
Ground floor room with two single beds and a bunk bed. Deck access, sea views and a Smart TV!
Third (family) bathroom suite with modern bath/shower & toilet
Secure garden readily accessible from the terraces. Modernised and landscaped in 2019
Can you spot Shell Ness from the beach?
A Summers day on the local beach.
Beach path back from Whitstable. Shell Ness visible just beyond the huts.
Sample the fresh local oysters along the Whitstable beach
Popular local oyster bar
Pop into the pub for a g&t when walking home along the beach.
Many satisfied guests return again.....
Spectacular sunsets seen from the comfort of the living room sofas!
Dine inside or out!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jan c
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow !”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were 9 ladies celebrating a 'hen do' and what an amazing house we found. A beautiful modern property with everything we needed, we particularly enjoyed the balcony and of course the spectacular sunsets. Great spot for a beach stroll into Whitstable.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrailBlaz...
1 review
“Thanks for having us Shell Ness, we hope to see you again next year!”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Every year a group of 12 friends get together for a long weekend in the north Kent area, and this year we choose to stay at Shell Ness in Whitstable. On arrival, we were very pleased with the house, it was large, modern and clean, with plenty of space and utensils for the 12 of us.

The view from the balcony is incredibly, exactly like the pictures, especially as you get to see Whitstable's famous sunsets across the estuary. And it also comes with a gas run barbecue, which we definitely made use of.

It is roughly a 20 minute walk along the beach into Whitstable, which was perfect for us, it was private enough that we weren't always being overlooked by passers by, but close enough to enjoy the nice stroll along the beach.

The check-in and check-out were very smooth, and generally, I can't think of a single negative thing to say.

Thanks for having us Shell Ness, we hope to see you again next year!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing on the balcony, taking in the view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shell Ness and those incredible sunsets. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay, we have been reviewing the kitchen saucepans and will be replacing them soon and will add some larger pans. Thank you for the feedback Phil & Sarah (owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sharon O
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was such a fun long weekend with my girlfriends. Excellent location, lovely views from the decking. All the rooms were fabulous, clean and lovely. Large dining and lounge are, with open plan kitchen. It was perfect!!

Date of stay: May 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Many thanks for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sammy3617...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply tremendous”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This house just keeps on giving! Every room is spacious and immaculately presented, that's if u can pull yourself away from the living area as those views are addictive! Great "party" house offering quiet places for others to go and whitstable evening life is blooming brilliant! A 15min stroll to the harbour where you can find anything you could ask for! The facilities in the house are of superior quality and there's plenty of pots pans crockery etc to cater for max occupancy! Tansy and Philip have a beautiful house that they clearly take pride in and were great at responding to any queries in the lead up! Do not hesitate in booking this house! Families or even as we were a group of friends celebrating a special time! Have fun and enjoy shell ness!

Date of stay: April 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorothyf5...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house with stunning views and amazing sunsets”
Reviewed April 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were a group of 9 women, celebrating many years of friendship and two special birthdays over a long weekend at Shell Ness. We enjoyed our stay very much, found the house to be a good size, so that we never felt on top of each other.
The bedrooms were spacious, the beds comfortable and the house was very clean. We found the kitchen to be well equipped, apart from a lack of wine glasses and no flutes. There were loads of water/juice/beer glasses but far less for wine, and as we had each brought 2 bottles of fizz and a bottle of wine, we struggled a little. We also found the description of 5 bathrooms to be a bit misleading, as in fact there are 3 bathrooms, one bedroom with a toilet and hand basin, and a downstairs cloakroom.
The house has wonderful views over the sea from all the balconies, and on our last evening we enjoyed a stunning sunset, glass of fizz in hand, a memory we all took away with us. We quite enjoyed seeing the trains and didn't find them at all troublesome, in fact we waved to them quite a lot, think that had something to do with the fizz!
The owner was extremely pleasant and helpful when we managed to lock ourselves out, not being used to the key safe, and he came over to rescue the situation. We were very grateful, and wondered about a spare key, never to be removed from the key safe, as a precaution?
Overall, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are thinking of returning next year.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
Dorothy F,
So glad you enjoyed your stay and have taken on board your comments. The wine glasses and champagne glasses are in the sideboard but we are going to update the 'guests guide book' in the house to make finding them a bite easier and include a bit more detail on how things work! We have also updated the web site description.
Always welcome feedback and do hope you will return next year. We hope to have a few more additions to the property and exceed your expectations next time....
Phil H (Owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing