We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights in March and found the hotel was nicely decorated. Our room was really clean and fresh, and decorated in a modern, very white style with lots of storage and overlooked the sea. The staff were really pleasant and breakfast was tasty with a good mix of buffet cereals/fruit/yoghurt and cold meats etc but your "full English" or variants of, being cooked to order. I found the breakfast to be better than most of the London hotels we have stayed at. I asked for crisp bacon and soft scrambled egg both mornings and that is exactly what I got. Hot too! Lovely. My main criticisms would be that the bed was really not very comfortable and if you want a good night's sleep then leave the heating/ac unit in the room off at night. The constant starting up and switching off of the unit through the night was very disturbing. Overall though I would recommend this hotel. We took a stroll into Whitstable for meals and it took us about 15 mins but we were not in any hurry. There was a pleasant walk along Tankerton slopes and the beach directly opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mreemrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    294
    70
    30
    25
See reviews for
153
455
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Romford England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked the most expensive Room.
1st impressions are important ...... Expected room to be bigger; Bath is only suitable for a child - very small. Shower curtain rail had been cut too short, so fell down until I bodged a temporary repair ( Fault reported but didn't get impression anything would be done).
Breakfast was disappointing - tea/coffee and the microwaved food went cold far too quickly.

Not being over critical, but for the price paid we expected more.
We would not return due to the price .vs. value.

Whitstable and location are good. Impressed by the place and will return ...... But to a different hotel.

Room Tip: Room 11 is at end and overlooks the sea, some other rooms seemed to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestHamEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

For our Friday night stay,on arrival the welcome was lukewarm, parking difficult and, strangely, the room hard to find and stairs steep.. Room was lovely - well designed and attractively decorated, with sea view. Bar staff offhand. Restaurant food was excellent but the restaurant was blistering hot( we had to open the windows), almost empty and the 2 waiters had few communication skills. We had a Fawlty Towers moment later when my bedside lamp fell off the wall and the bulb broke, with glass on and around the bed. 15 minutes after explaining this to reception, one of the aforementioned waiters turned up with a glass tumbler because "I had broken a glass" . Eventually he grasped the idea and the second waiter turned up and between them they managed to change a light bulb.
Saturday morning obviously had the A team on and the service and atmosphere in the restaurant for a good breakfast was dramatically improved, as was the receptionist..

Room Tip: Sea view rooms also face the road but still very quiet on a Friday night and slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clareprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My partner & I stayed at this hotel two Friday nights in a row as he was exhibiting at a local gallery.

All I can say is that from the moment we arrived, each and every staff member was friendly and welcoming. Our rooms for both visits were extremely comfortable, clean and designed brilliantly (the hairdryer being near the mirror - sounds simple but so many places get that wrong!).

We ate in the lounge and enjoyed people watching. Breakfast was fab as other reviewers have mentioned.

My overwhelming feeling after the stay was relaxation and that's something you don't often get these days.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and were absolutely blown away by how great the room was. We were in a 'ziplock' bed room where 2 beds are zipped together to make a king size. It was so comfortable and the sea view was stunning.

We drank in the bar which has lovely cosy decor and a great choice of drinks.

We also ate in the restaurant off the A La Carte menu and the standard of food was delicious.

The highlight of the hotel has to be the breakfast! Such a fantastic choice of hot and cold dishes all included in the overnight price.

All reception and waiting staff were so welcoming and cheery.

We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: First floor rooms with sea view have lovely balconies. Worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VisitEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed on Saturday night (15th March) we ALL agreed it was GREAT, rooms recently decorated, spotlessly clean, all you needed including full length mirror, proper hairdryer, tea & coffee in the room and the offer of fresh milk instead of the UHT stuff.

Had drinks outside on the terrace before heading to Whitstable for dinner returned later to enjoy a few drinks in the bar before going off to bed, slept very well good quality linen & pillows. Lovely room with a balcony it was just warm enough to enjoy a morning coffee on the balcony fantastic sea view, well worth the little extra for a sea view & balcony.

Breakfast was excellent good choice well cooked and better quality than most hotels, so nice to have a cooked breakfast served to you as opposed to a buffet which I hate.

All the staff where friendly and professional would highly recommend The Marine Hotel will definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and upgrade to a superior room with sea view & balcony room 7 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheWizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We've stayed many times before in Whitstable, in a B&B, in the Continental and in Fisherman's Huts. This was the first time at The Marine and it will definitely be our first choice next time: the room was immaculate and fresh and a bit fun too; it was a quick walk into town (along the beach in daytime); we appreciated being able to walk off our superb dinner (at Royal Native Oyster Stores); we were - as usual - last for breakfast but the staff were friendly and accommodating. We also enjoyed the bar late in the evening - obviously a mixture of locals and guests, which is a good sign, and we had tall stools in a window recess from where we watched the wild weather over the front. Looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: We had a fairly small room on the top floor, with a car park view, but it was so charming - if a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
16.6 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
6.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing