We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely refurb”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely refurb”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

just returned from a 2 night break here which i enjoyed very much. lovely comfortable room with a balcony overlooking the sea.lots of free tea, coffee and biscuits in room with a small kettle. staff all very helpful and friendly and food very tasty. no complaints there. only gripe was the bathroom which had been decorated beautifully but was terrible to use. the sink was too small and when i washed my face the water was spilling out over the sides making the floor all wet! and the shower was so powerful it was actually painful to use! not good as i actually had to brace myself before using it. no need to have the heated towel rail either as it made the bathroom too warm. but it is a lovely little hotel near to whitstable town centre and the train station and of course it's a stones throw from the beach. would stay again if in whitstable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26smiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    309
    78
    33
    27
See reviews for
162
474
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here after calling in earlier in the year for drinks in the lounge - thought the hotel looked great and the service very friendly. We were not disappointed at all !
We booked 2 rooms, one sea view and one town view.
Right from the start when checking in everything was superb.
Staff were exceptionally helpful and genuinely friendly, the rooms were lovely - great decor and attention to detail.
Location of this hotel is perfect - overlooking the sea.
Breakfast was excellent - choice of food and service, and we ate one evening in the lounge, and again the food was great, and prices reasonable.
Overall a fantastic stay, and will definitely be booking here again, and would highly recommend to anyone.
If there was any negative, the size of the shower in one room was very small, and not powerful, however this didn't spoil the stay at all.

Room Tip: well worth booking a sea view room - balcony if possible, however town view room (Room 112) was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyn v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A lovely seaside hotel which comes highly recommended by us due to its great location, beautiful sea views, tasteful refurbishment, comfy bed, helpful staff and tasty breakfast.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel due to it being so close to Whitstable (a 15 minute very pleasant stroll along the beach) where you are spoilt for choice with a whole variety of interesting eateries. However, the restaurant looked most pleasant and breakfast was good - plenty of choice.

We opted for a room with a sea view - definitely worth the extra money. We were fortunate that we stayed during a wonderfully warm and sunny spell, which definitely made our trip and the location even better.

This hotel is in Tankerton - a very close neighbour to Whitstable - just far enough away from the busy hub-bub of the town to ensure a really peaceful break.

There are many many positive things about this hotel and we would definitely return but there were just a few niggles which were a little disappointing and we think worth mentioning:- the step up onto our balcony and the carpet just in front of it were filthy - it would take just five minutes or so to clean and this would make such a difference to first impressions; the shower can only be described as 'vicious' and as well as the flow being extremely full-on, we kept getting enveloped by the fabric shower curtain that has been hung as an alternative to a glass screen (which would be very much preferred!); the car park behind the hotel is small and was full up when we arrived (a busy lunchtime) - we couldn't find anywhere nearby on the surrounding roads to park so we decided to drive into Whitstable to bide a couple of hours until we returned to the hotel to check in late afternoon - by then a few spaces were available.

All that said, a super stay though - thoroughly enjoyable and recommended to anyone looking for a relaxing stay beside the sea.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must when the weather is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeyblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed the Friday/Saturday and Sunday of the 220th whitstable regatta- we had a ball
There was some disquiet with a couple of guests over the lack of a "sea view" -I had the opportunity to watch the manager's handle a complaint very professionally.
In my opinion he should have been keel-hauled and thrown out -the comments are out there for sure.
I will return with my family. San Miguel pricey mind. and I know I paid more than the complaining joker - entice me back: kevin.cornwall

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harpenden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here in 3 rooms this Aug. Lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff, beds, possibly the most comfortable ever! And when I mistakenly thought I had a problem with my air conditioning they were there to fix it in under a minute! Lovely sea views, 15 mins seafront walk to whitstable. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Pay little extra for sea view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarpendenWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Book a seaview and just relax in this refurbished, comfortable Hotel that is in a superb location overlooking the sea at Tankerton Slopes.
Highly recommend the restaurant, excellent service, tasty dishes and the breakfasts most definately worth a mention.
Just a short stroll along the promenade will take you into Whistable where you will find buildings, independant shops, a great choice of restaurants, a working harbour, oyster shacks and many other things of interest.
The hotel I cannot fault, a lovely place to have a coffee, a beer, a long drink, a glass of bubbly, a lighter meal in the bar or something a bit special in the restaurant. Suitable for all ages. A well run hotel well done to the management and staff.

Room Tip: Book a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This Hotel is great - nothing very negative to say except it would have been great if the bar stayed open to residents after midnight - we were at a wedding nearby and the wedding party filled about 90% of the Hotel, we all arrived back to the Hotel hoping for a night cap just after midnight but the bar was locked, I am sure it would have been advantageous for all to keep a member of staff on for one more hour. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph1968_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
422 reviews
6.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
685 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
6.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing