We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated, but could not fault service or comfort levels of this hotel”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bit dated, but could not fault service or comfort levels of this hotel”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I had room 3, overlooking the sea. Nice and large with excellent facilities - comfort level very good with clean fluffy towels, marvellous water pressure for thundering hot shower and quick bath filling. Iron/board, tea/coffee etc. facilities, good hairdryer, good tele (poor reception fixed by a wiggle of the aerial), good temperature - perfect. Most importantly, the friendly service for a single traveller was very welcome, bar food very good and quick service. A good experience, I would return for a weekend stay. Not this room perhaps for a romantic visit, it was in need of a paint and refurb job, although it was clean - only criticism I can make of my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    315
    82
    38
    29
See reviews for
168
485
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is situated on the sea front with plenty of parking, and local to town.The staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean, and the towels white and soft. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty.If booking ask for one of the refurbished rooms and i guarantee you'll have as perfect stay ! We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesBaker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed there for one Saturday night.The rooms were clean with nice clean towels and a comfortable bed.Some of the corridors needed a bit of T L C. The staff were very friendly and helpfull.The breakfast could not be faulted.This hotel is 10 minutes from town,it is ideally placed if you like to walk with the local bus service to Herne Bay and Whitstable very close.We will most certainly visit again.

Room Tip: If anyone has preferences speak to the staff prior to booking,I dont think you'd be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicknNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

A tired outdated hotel that hasn't moved on since at least 1975. We had room 5 which was in very poor condition with dirty stained carpets, chipped paint and some dangerously sharp plastic sticking out at the bottom of the bath panel. To be fair the bedding and towels were spotless and good quality. The food was variable but the buffet breakfasts were poor - luke warm bacon and a sausages, rubbery fried eggs and rock solid fried bread. Evening meals were however slightly better. That 70's staple the carvery was reasonable but not worth the £9.95 price tag. The ale at the bar was in superb condition as it should be in a Shepherd Neame house but the evening barman was surly and snatched the money out of my hand when a pint with short measure was asked to be topped up. The other reviews on this site are extremely accurate so my advice is find somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenskyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberston, N.E. Lincs
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I stayed here with my Mum and two Aunties from 10th - 13th October.
We had 2 twin-bedded rooms overlooking the sea-front with a small balcony. Rooms 5 & 7
The room and bathroom was very clean (crisp white cotton bedding and large white fluffy towels). Our only negative comment was how tired the rooms are looking and are in need of a complete refurb !
The maids showed us the new refurbished rooms - as shown on the web-site - oh wow you would not be disappointed if you had one of those!!
We had a meal in the bar on the 1st night and it was fine.
The breakfast on the first morning was excellent - the waiter came and took our order and it arrived pretty quickly. The hotel must have been busier the next 2 mornings as the cooked breakfast was set up in the hot bain-maries. We felt it was not as good as having it cooked to order (i.e. the fried eggs were rubbery and had been in the bain-marie a long time)
My Auntie did ask for poached eggs and these were perfect.
I have to mention the staff - all of them were extremely pleasant, chatty and helpful.
They booked taxis for us, gave us the name of a local Indian and booked our table, and were generally helpful whenever we asked any questions
I would certainly visit again but would be asking for one of the "NEW" rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly re-furbished rooms on the sea-front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAFSAFHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here with my partner at the end of September for 3 nights. We stayed in one of the double deluxe rooms, which was very comfortable and pleasant. Staff were friendly and the place was very clean. Breakfast was largely buffet style but you can order other things like waffles to be made up for you. My partner did this though and it was quite slow, so we stuck with the buffet afterwards. Only things I would say was that TV reception is bad in the area so don't be surprised if your reception for a TV show fails. Also, the place was quite noisy on the Saturday night until about midnight because there was a wedding function going on downstairs. Otherwise perfectly fine B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south england
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The first room we was given was old fashioned, dated and we could only have a tepid shower. We reported it after the first night and was told they would check it out. It was the same on the second night but there was a wedding at the hotel so all rooms were full. Reported it the second morning and they moved us to a lovely refurbished room. So for the last night of our 3 night stay we had a hot shower. The breakfast was included and was buffet style apart from the tea, coffee and toast. The dining staff were not friendly and the toast appeared white when I asked for some proper toast I was told the toaster was playing up but was not asked if I would like it redone or wanted to change it for bread and butter. There was no lift and the corridors were like a maze, we ended up walking at least 4 flights of stairs to the top floor. This was not a cheap hotel and I have stayed in cheaper hotels and had better service and nicer rooms.

Room Tip: Complain until they move you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watkinwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
2.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
430 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,878 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
700 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Property: The Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | Tankerton, Whitstable CT5 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hotel Whitstable, Kent
Marine Hotel Whitstable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing