We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay for our first family holiday with...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Fisherman's Cot

View to the Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View to the Garden
Sun Deck Shower Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
View to the Garden
Sun Deck
Shower Room
Bed
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living area
Living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmenada...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for our first family holiday with baby!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cot was amazing! The setting was idyllic and with the weather being so great we made the most of the beautiful garden and bbq. It was our first holiday with our 9 month old baby boy and the stay couldn't have been more enjoyable and stress free. Frank and jo helped enure we had everything we needed and were so friendly and knowledgable about the area. The cot is a great space with all amenities plus buckets, spades and crab lines! We loved it so much we are already planning our next trip in the winter so we can appreciate the wood burner. You can really tell the family love whitstable and have the cot with guests as a labour of love, so many little details made this evident.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2014
It was so good to read you lovely review, it is much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samambo
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect cosy bolt-hole for a windy weekend in Whitstable!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I had such a lovely weekend in the Fisherman's cot. From the start Frank was the perfect host, picking us up from the station and giving us a whistle stop tour before showing us to the cot where the fire was ready to go! It was blowing an absolute gale the night we arrived but we were warm and toasty sitting by the log burner. The additional heaters were also useful when our fire stoking skills failed us!!

The cot is in a great location, within easy walking distance of the town centre and the beach. Frank recommended lots of wonderful places to eat and drink - you certainly won't struggle to find a delicious meal. As for the cot itself, the little kitchen had everything we needed to whip up breakfasts and light meals. Lovely hot shower, super comfy bed and great thoughtful touches ensured we felt right at home.

Thanks for a wonderful weekend escape from the city! I'm sure we will be seeing you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2014
Thank yo so much for your great review, It was great to see you guys, come back again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
45ecg
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a lovely break for the dog and I”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very welcoming, relaxing atmosphere on arrival. Excellent facilities for taking the dog with me, she could run out safe as if we were at home. The log burner made the place very cosy. The flowers fruit and provisions all were an extra bonus. Excellent location for being near the beach and dog walking, without being on the beach, which I prefer (less people!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the log burner
Liked least: trying to find a map to the property, trip advisor had it pinned somewhere else
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review, it is really appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissMetho...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts, warm welcome and perfect cosy accomodation”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Our trip to the Fisherman's Cot was the perfect get away from London. Frank and Jo were very friendly and helpful from the outset, with swift communication and answers to any questions, even offering to collect us from the station when we arrived.

The cot itself is warm and inviting, the decor is lovely and it has everything you could need for a great stay. There was fresh orange juice and milk waiting for us in the fridge, and the wood burning stove made it feel instantly cosy.

We enjoyed walking into the centre of Whitstable along the road and the beach, and made good use of Franks suggestions for places to eat and drink, especially the "Old Neptune" pub on the sea front. The Cot is the perfect distance from the town centre, far enough to feel quiet and peaceful but close enough for the walking to be a pleasant ten minute stroll, helping you to walk off all the sea food!

I can't say enough good things about the friendliness and hospitality of our hosts, who could not have been nicer and knew so much about the area. The Cot was much nicer than staying in a B&B, we enjoyed the independence of our own front door and making breakfast when we felt like it!

We took some of the leaflets to give to friends as we would highly recommend staying in the Cot for a trip to Whitstable! We are hoping to be able to come back to Whitstable for a longer stay next year and will definitely want to stay at the Cot as it was our experience there which really made the holiday!

Thank you so much Frank and Jo for a fantastic weekend.

Melissa and Rodney

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2014
Your kind words and lovely review is much appreciated!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing