We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and perfectly formed...”

David Brown Delicatessen
Ranked #42 of 127 Restaurants in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Faversham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small and perfectly formed...”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent value, first class food, great coffee, the talented George in the kitchen (with David in support...) and the super-efficient Viv keeping the punters in line. What more could we ask?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NotNowChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    15
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Still great...”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

No visit to Whitstable is complete without a visit to Dave's so after a two year absence from town I popped in this morning. Two excellent sandwiches and good coffee with great service from lovely Alison. Will eat a proper meal next time...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Only place in whitstable under £10 meal!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It's hard to believe not to see 'The Deli" not in top 10 in Whitstable, but I guess they are not really a restaurant, and more like a continental Cafe Bar tyle of place serving good honest fresh food at incredibly affordable price, so don't bother with the nearby pubs and chain places to eat out.

Everything as far as I know is made fresh here every day (including bread as far as I remember), and I'm so happy to see a place in Whitstable where I can have a fully satisfying healthy or heaty lunch in Whitsable for this range of price.

I have breakfasts in weekend; fried agg and ciabatta at £3.50 - simple and delicious. They can cook full English if you want (or whatever you like), but somehow the combination of nice fried eggs (2 eggs!!) with thick soft ciabatta is incredibly satisfying that I don't need anything else.

I have done some takeways of ciabatta sandwich with Perma ham, tomato and Moncego cheese for £3.50 (Why go to Pret or Costa!!??) and eat on the beach.

Coffee tatse REALLY good here, nutty and rich. I never tasted coffee that good in London ...

Lunch is always different, and it tastes so fresh. As boring as Tomtato and Mozerrela tasted amazing with bit of fresh oregano as the ingredients themselves were so fresh and good quality, and there's always a fab option if you want something richier, like pies or cassellole, all freshly made on the day. Slow-cooked food is very nice at this deli; I had beef cheek pie for something like £6.50, and it was delish and full-filling.

Towards weekend, they open til late for after work "drinks", and this is the only place in Whitstable that I can have my Aperol Splizer with procecco - for good price, along with variety of wines and spirits - the place has definately taken over for the weekend drinkers and the atomosphere always fab regardless of the day or time you visit.

They are happy to 'make up" snacks from the deli counter, and it's great when all food is run out in the evening and when I'm pekkish and fancy nibbles or more to go with my dinks.

This is what was missing in Whitstable for a long itme for me. Threre are a "some" fantastic restaurants in Whitstable but I don't want ot pay £30+ every time I go out to eat something fresh and decent. David's Deli is the only place offering this in central Whitstable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egg_coddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Simply put, the finest friendliest service anywhere. Top quality michelinesque food at cafe prices.
Staff are wonderful, ambience delightful. Friday & Saturday evenings are great for enjoying a bottle of wine in warm & convivial company. Everything has come together perfectly to make this little gem sparkle.

Helpful?
Thank Rotara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best coffee ever”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lovely tiny little deli on the high street with the best coffee in Whitstable. You must try out their pizza slices and almondy cakey thing. absolutely delicious. we always make a point of visiting this great find when on the coast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magna55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Brown Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to David Brown Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing