We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
196
62
11
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
196
62
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hill view fish hut dog bowl huge garden tennis ball the main house breakfast room dog owners lovely breakfast crab plenty of tea coffee garden room comfortable beds bottled water full english breakfast quiet location small fridge
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 270 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2017

Lovely view, appx 1.5m from centre of town. very comfy bed, spacious family room and really good breakfast. Ensuite shower room was a bit small given it was a family room. Overall v clean but for the price could have done a little better. Just nit picking really toilet roll holder loose, cheap flooring....

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kimhatpev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017

We have stayed here a few times now and we love the place. Jane the owner could not be more accommodating and does an excellent breakfast. We stay in the cabin which is a self contained unit in the grounds. We have 2 dogs and this place is perfect for them.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017

Clean and welcoming. Jane the owner was so friendly. Made us very at home. Doggies very well catered for. Wonderful gardens for ball chasing. Chalet was spotless and had everything you need. Large bed very comfy. Have booked to return in june. A gem of a bnb in beautiful countryside.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mikirkham_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

I booked this as a weekend away for my partners birthday and it was perfect. Secluded enough for peace and quiet but located well so that it was walking distance to the harbour, or a short easy drive in to Canterbury. The owner was so friendly, breakfast was nice, comfy bed; I would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ntiern_267596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017

We had a problem with the booking and the owner was extremely kind with us and made our stay incredibly pleasant.

We arrived and parked at the entrance where there is room for 3-4 cars. The following night we arrived a bit late so had to park in the parallel street but we were fine with that, it's a nice residential area.

It was surprisingly quiet, so we slept great. The room was not huge but just the right size. There was no wardrobe but hangers in a wall hanger which was enough for us. We did have a tv and a small fridge, as well as a king size bed with a great matress and medium sized pillows, not too soft not too hard. The linen was top quality and very clean, clearly almost new, with a medium tog duvet that was quite enough for the Easter weekend, the insulation was great and that was lucky because that weekend it was really cold. The toilet was small, with a little sink, but the shower was really powerful and gave enough warm water for two generous showers in the morning. Very clean and with toiletries provided. Wifi was also very good.

Our room overlooked the side garden, but the star of the stay for us was the kitchen. It overlooks a huge prairie with cows living in a farm, and we just couldn't get enough of the views when we went for breakfast. There was freshly made white and brown bread, there is an amazing array of cereals, jams and spreads, and a fridge with yogurt, fat free and full fat, and different milk options, including soya milk.

The lovely owner also offers a cooked breakfast including the usual, eggs, sausages, bacon, etc with top quality, as well as a veggie option that was delicious.

We will be coming back in November as we loved every minute of our stay, made special by the owner, a lovely lady who really knows how to run a business of this kind. The treatment we received was absolutely amazing, many 5 star hotels could learn a thing or two from Hillview.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews