We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Seaside treasure!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse Comfortable Sleeping Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
A Beautiful Whitstable Sunset 5 minute walk away
The Bakehouse
Comfortable Sleeping Area
Luxury Kingsize Bed
Everything you require
Relax on the leather sofas
Flat Screen TV
Kitchen & Dining Area
Suntrap Decking Area
Fantastic Sunsets on Whitstable Beach
Whitstable Fisherman Huts
Whitstable Castle
The Sea Forts
Sunset
Summer fun jumping from the groins
A lovely July evening
July sunset at East Quay
Sunset in August from East Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bequiebou
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The photos are very misleading.”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It is actually located down a dirty ally by a smoking patio of a grotty bar. Don't book if you want sea views or if you think curtains are a luxury.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2014
We are sorry that unlike our other guests you were unhappy with our property. Whitstable is a maze of alleyways with buildings behind buildings which most think gives it character...we disagree that the one by the Bakehouse is dirty. The photos and our listing actually state it is a 5 minute walk to the sea so not sure why you expected sea views....if sea views were available, prices for accommodation of our standards would be much higher than we charge. Hopefully, future guests will realise the review you have left is rather unfair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and The Bakehouse Whitstable. Hopefully we will welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nwspm
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Ideal hideaway”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We chose the bake house for our first visit to whitstable, it was the perfect size, very clean, well furnished and equipped. We found it ideal for popping to all the great shops, cafés and the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to town
Liked least: Alley to entrance
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed both The Bakehouse and Whitstable and hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2014
Thank you for leaving a review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed both Whitstable and The Bakehouse. Look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachel D
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Stay in Whistable”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay at The Bakehouse. We came to stay for a relaxing weekend. The Bakehouse is a good size for a couple although I am you could fit another 2 people in on the sofa be. It has all your basic creature comforts, i.e towels cutlery, plates, mugs, glasses etc... Very clean and tidy. We also had a some biscuits, tea, milk and sugar left for us which I thought was nice touch. The is also a is a small decking area in the front which is a great sun trap in the morning so it was nice to get our breakfast out there!

The location is just off the main highstreet behind the Champs Bakery and the jazz club. So it close to lots of café’s and shops.

I do have 2 slight qualms, one is that there is a sunlight right above the bed, so those who are wishing to have a sleep in on a bright sunny day will not be able to. And the second thing, is just outside the front door there is a smoking area for the Jazz club. It seems to get quite noisy if there are large groups of people out there late at night. I think we may have been unlucky, as the late night England game was being shown in there and a drunken fight kicked off after the game which was about 1am in the morning! So again didn’t have the best of sleeps….

It’s probably about a 10-15 min walk to the beach.

Virginia is very friendly and knowledgeable on the area.

All in all we had a lovely stay and it is a good base if you want to explore Whitstable and the surrounding areas..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked least: The sunlight above the bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your break but sorry to hear that you did not sleep well. We have always been told how much people like the brightness of The Bakehouse and noone has mentioned (even our frequent returning guests) it is too light to sleep, this is something we will not monitor closely and if it is a problem for others will fit a blind. With regard to the Wine Bar, it is not outside our door but outside the gate. It was unfortunate that you visited whilst a major football event was happening, however, it should not have caused a problem. We are talking with the owners and requesting that they respect neighbours as other drinking establishments in Whitstable do and close their gardens and yards at 9pm to elminate this being a problem in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webster51
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, would come again.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Bakehouse was a joy to stay in, it was very very clean and the furnishings bright
and fresh. Everything you could possibly need was provided.
My daughter actually said she would'nt mind living in it all the time.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your break and of course, The Bakehouse. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sezwez
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again at The Bakehouse.”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Bakehouse; it has everything you need and is decorated and furnished to a high standard. It is in a great location being just of the high street and walking distance to the beach. The decked area was nice to sit in and the bed was really comfy. Whitstable is lovely and would definitely go back and stay at The Bakehouse. The only reason we gave it four was because it did get loud late at night as it is behind a wine bar but with the windows shut you can't really hear the noise.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing