We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“most comfortable beds ever!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jue1376
brighton
1 review
“most comfortable beds ever!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We were looking for a last minute short break for my mum's 60th birthday with my immediate family. The owners were very accomodating with all of my queries and we found Julie the keyholder to be equally friendly.
Whitstable was freezing so the two open fires downstairs were well received, we could have done with more kindling as the larger logs and papers didn't get much of a roar going but it was a hugely windy weekend.
The bedrooms are lovely and it was handy to have the option of splitting on of the doubles into a twin. We used this room for my son. The cottage is in a great central location and we are hoping to come back in the summer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beds
Liked least: the kitchen window was very drafty which made the downstairs bathroom pretty uninviting but it was a freezing cold weekend
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colette S
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely cottage, clean, well equipped with some thoughtful touches such as tea, coffee, biscuits and flowers. There was no need to bring anything except clothes and personal belongings as everything was supplied.

Although a small place they have decorated it to the highest quality and it has a roomy feel with bathrooms upstairs and downstairs which was excellent for my elderly father.

The position of the cottage also ideal with all amenities just 2 minutes away. We will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, warmth and decor
Liked least: Nothing - the stairs were steep but you expect that in older properties
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent little seaside house”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Just wonderful, cosy, best comfy bed in the world - excellent position slap bang in the middle of everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cosy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia172
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“All you could want, and more...”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This is a lovely property, very well managed and welcoming. Lots of little extras such as milk in the fridge and a warm welcome from Julie all add to the charm of the cottage. It is very well equipped and clean also included WiFi/ Internet etc. I took a small dog with me who fitted in fine and slept in the kitchen really happily.
I know Whitstable well since my mother in law lives there so I was lucky to leave the car on her drive, however if you find it dificult to park in Albert Street the car park opposite isn't expensive for unloading and short periods and is free overnight. Otherwise a short walk away Nelson Road often has spare spaces on the road.
Whitstable has lots of old world charm and original shops as well as a good choice of modern eateries and clothing/ gift/ arty shops. Best thing is you can walk everywhere and many shops/pubs/ restaurants were surprisingly welcoming to dogs! Talking of which there are loads of great walks along the beaches and in Blean Woods.
All in all a great break away, we really didn't want to come back to the city. I will definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage and its decor
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelma T
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The most fantastic find, an absolute gem of a house.”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have just come home from a week in this fantastic house, not only is it very comfortable and very cosy but it is also the cleanest holiday home we have ever stayed in! The quiet, private garden is a real suntrap, there are a couple of table and chair sets and even a washing line and bbq! The house is very well equipped with everything you need, when we arrived a beautiful bunch of flowers, some lovely buiscuits and a pint of milk had been left for us, we were really touched by this.
If you have any quieries, Keith, the owner is just a phone call away or there is Julie who lives nearby who looks after and cleans the house to a very high standard indeed, she is a gem! The house is situated in the heart of this lovely town with the beach, harbour and shops just a stones throw away. We will definately visit 11 Albert street again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cleanliness, the bed is the most comfortable we have slept in.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harvey28
London,UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Ideally located, spotlessly clean cottage for sampling all of Whitstable's delights”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

11, Albert Street is a few steps away from Harbour Street, with its superb bookshop, cheese shop, wine shop, cupcake shop, and Elliott's cafe which serves the best breakfast in England! What more could you want? Well, possibly a beautiful beach within two minutes' walk...maybe a whole list of fabulous restaurants serving the freshest seafood...perhaps a glorious cathedral city within a few miles? Yes, you get all those as well.

The cottage is in a narrow street of Victorian artisan's homes, some seasidey weekend boltholes, some still faintly scruffy residences. It's not for those who seek rural peace, since your neighbours' social gatherings will naturally be all around, but it is for those who want a well furnished, very clean base in the centre of everything.

The cottage has two very pretty bedrooms with excellent beds - no dodgy springs here - and two sparkling bathrooms, both with powerful showers. The kitchen is tiny but very well equipped, the living room very cosy and the cottage garden really delightful, with two sets of furniture to catch morning and evening sun.

The caretaker looks after the house superbly; there's fresh milk in the 'fridge, fresh flowers on the table, and not a speck of dirt or dust anywhere. She's also really helpful and friendly - the owners are very lucky.

The only caveats are the very steep staircase and the parking. I would not recommend the stairs for anyone elderly or with any mobility issues, or indeed for anyone who can't cope with open treads - our son's fit, agile 21 year old girlfriend took one look down from the third-to-lowest step and promptly refused to have anything to do with going upstairs. With the parking, as the owners say, it is 'available' on and off street, but during our stay there was not a single on-street space, and the small car park was often full. I'm sure this is true of most places in this justly popular town, however.

These small issues are more than outweighed by the location, the character and the spotless cleanliness of the property, and the fact that it is dog-friendly. Whitstable gets my vote for the most dog-friendly town in the UK - it's more like a California town in that respect, with dogs allowed in Elliott's cafe and other restaurants, and even in the high street shoe shop! Quite right too, and contributes to the civilized feel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twdwood
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful, cosy, welcoming place to stay-we will be back!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We stayed for a weekend in May and it was such a pleasure to arrive to a place that more than lived up to the photos on the website-we felt immediately at home and didn't want to leave, a weekend was too short! We had a lovely stay wandering around the town, which is literally on the doorstep, as is the beach. We even got some sunshine so spent a lovely couple of hours in the Neptune pub down on the beach, before heading back to the cottage for an Indian takeaway (I can't remember the name but Keith and Penny had highly recommended it to us and we were not disappointed). We even took advantage of the fireplace and had a lovely open fire. Whitstable feels really accessible from London and it was so nice to get away to the sea for a few nights. It is a very spacious house, much more so than we had imagined, so next time I hope to bring a few more friends down to explore the town and to sample the local seafood, which we didn't get a chance to do this time around. I would really recommend this cottage to couples, families or groups of friends wanting a seaside escape and Penny and Keith were really helpful and friendly and took the time to tell us where was worth visiting, which made a lot of difference to our stay. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt really homely and cosy and was the perfect location- so near to both the town and the sea.
Liked least: The kitchen is quite small although totally workable. And a warning that the staircase is quite steep.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing