We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This classic Whitstable terrace has it all.”
other travelers have booked this property
Dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining room
Dining room Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Dining room
Dining room
Dining room
Stylish and comfortable cottage in the heart of Whitstable.
Log burner in living room
Hip and stylish living room, woodburning stove, TV/DVD, WiFi, iPod dock
Kitchen
Modern kitchen
Family bathroom
Family bathroom
Family Bathroom
Front bedroom
Front Bedroom - top quality bedlinen, luxurious throws, wihitewashed floors and plenty of storage
Front bedroom
Front bedroom
Back bedroom with Melin Tregwynt throw and cushions
Back bedroom (en suite)
Top Bedroom - Light and airy, very spacious, velux windows, toybox for children, local art
Top twin room
En suite bathroom - overhead shower, light and spacious
En Suite shower room
En suite shower room
Fish Decoration
Bedroom Mirrors
Coat Tree
Woodburner
House Name
Sunny Garden - decked and landscaped with seaside plants. Table and chairs - plenty of space.
Garden plants
Sunny garden
Harbour Sunset
Local Ice Cream
Oyster Shells
Sunset over Whitstable
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
stjohnsmy...
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This classic Whitstable terrace has it all.”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in January 2015

This was an excellent weekend away with friends in this charming property.
The owners clearly care about making it comfortable and welcoming.
We stayed in January so were very grateful for the log burner.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed October 17, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Really enjoyed our stay in castaway cottage , could'nt fault it . Lovely cottage with coast and all amenities close by .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Thank you Paul. Great to hear you had an enjoyable stay, you're welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise7...
1 review
“A home from home”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We loved our stay at the Cottage, which is in fact a three storey house. It's homely and full of amenities. Three of us stayed and we each had a lovely double room. Real fire was a delight and we were even able to utilise the lovely courtyard garden at the back as the weather was kind. Whitstable is pretty small so all walkable from Cottage, you're just minutes from main drag and seafront, so location is spot on. Owners were very responsive especially when we got in touch on the Saturday night to ask a few questions during our stay. Few things to be aware of: stairs in the Cottage are very steep; parking can be difficult and the streets are narrow. Would also be useful to have an information pack in the Cottage, but as mentioned owners were very helpful when we reached out with questions. Delightful and recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2017
Thank you for your review and for being such lovely guests. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Castaway Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill C
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty cottage very close to town and seafront”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you love cycling and walking then Whitstable is the perfect place to stay. You can cycle all the way to Margate along the seafront and hire cycles from the shop on the corner. The garden is a suntrap and very secure. The cottage itself is very pretty and has just about everything to make your stay comfortable, the only thing missing for us was a tumble dryer, although it was sunny throughout our stay and we were able to dry things in the garden after purchasing a washing line. Lovely garden to sit in and enjoy your breakfast, lovely relaxing stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2017
Dear Jill
Thank you for your lovely review of Castaway Cottage. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and made the most of everything Whitstable has to offer. We would love to welcome you back anytime.
Best wishes
Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivian n
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We will be back next year”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I waited to write this review until we had booked our week for next year.
The holiday gave our three generation family aged from 7 upwards everything we could have desired.
The parking on a bank holiday weekend took a while but from then on we hardly needed the car. There is also a good bus service to Canterbury and along the coast.
We could walk down the quiet road to the quirky but also useful shops and eateries, the harbour and the beach in minutes and go for much longer walks when we wished.
The children loved the crabbing, the sea shore and even the rather cool sea.
The house was great with so many original and unusual features, lots of space in the bedrooms and seating in the decked garden.The house also had modern bathrooms and a well fitted kitchen with lots of crockery and cutlery.
The stairs were fine for older children and younger Grandparents.
Whitstable holiday homes were a really good booking agent who were efficient and really knew the properties.
Now that we have secured our week for next year, you may book your stay. By the way we can't guarantee you have the same lovely weather that we enjoyed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house and position
Liked least: The parking
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinyEm
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location ”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is well equipped and has everything that you need for a self-catering holiday. The cottage is tastefully decorated and comfortably seats 6 in both the dining room and lounge. The stairs to the top bedroom were a bit steep for my liking but there was plenty of space up there so perfect for older children or nimble adults. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to friends who wish to stay in Whitstable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2015
Thank you for your review! So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Castaway Cottage - it would be great to see you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benmM574F...
London
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“A perfect Whitstable accommodation”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The castaway cottage is a traditional three bedroom Victorian style cottage that's been decorated to a very high standard in the modern traditional style, which provides luxury but plenty of character thanks to appropriate furnishings. The two main bedrooms have double beds and one gas an enthusiast suite. There is an additional bathroom downstairs and an extra spacious twin room in the loft, accessed by a steep original staircase. There is a large landscaped decked garden. The cottage is moments from the main town and seaside. The large modern kitchen has everything you could possibly need for self catering. My family and I loved this cottage and look forward to returning in the future. We'll also be stealing some.of the decor ideas for own own period house!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2015
Thank you for your review. It's lovely to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Hope you come back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing