We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We are going down Whitstable quite a lot but never stayed at the Duke of Cumberland. All we can say is that we were pleasantly surprised by a really large room in very good order with nice old features such an interesting old radio and a very nice coffee table. Even being on the main road, there was no noise coming from the street and after the pub shuts down it all goes magically quite. The breakfast was superb...great wild mashrooms! Tony, one of the guy managing the place, cooked us a really nice breakfast that had a nice interesting twist from the original favour just by adding on some more spice and using wild mashrooms. ...We now know where to book next time we are thinking of going to Whitstable!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
54
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Came up from London after a period of hard work and found the perfect place to relax, 30 seconds from the beach, lively bar with a friendly staff and a cracking breakfast all for a great price, wish I could get down more often.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Bit of a quirky place but a lovely room and a fantastic breakfast. The staff were friendly and chatty. It's all very laid back. We didn't even sign in and check out was pretty much whenever we pleased. The pub was heaving when the live music was on but a great atmosphere. The location couldn't be more central. In all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessieWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had just one night in The Duke of Cumberland as we were visiting one of our favourite restaurants (Wheelers) and rather than doing the usual toss up as to who is going to drive, we decided to stay overnight. The Duke of Cumberland is one of the few places that offer just a single night accommodation. Most of the B&B's insist on a two night stay over the weekend.
On our arrival we were shown up to a lovely room. You have a key to the street, so can get in and out of your room 24 hours a day. The rooms are large and spacious, and ours was double aspect with views straight out over Whitstable high street.
This is a lively pub, but all noise ceased at 12.30 and was very quiet overnight even given its close proximity to the street outside.
We were told there was no rush down to breakfast the next day, but being rather hungover we were there by 8.30am. The breakfast, served by the owners was absolutely amazing. I'd go as far as to say that it was probably the best we have ever eaten! They make their own bacon, fantastic sausages, 2 lovely eggs served on a doorstop of home baked bread, mushrooms and baked beans. Real orange juice and real coffee! You might think I'm overdoing it a bit, but believe me, this is not your average breakfast. We also had a snack lunch the day before here before hitting the shops and their sandwiches are great as well. Just a shame it's a Shepherd Neame Pub as we would have spent longer drinking in here. A couple of real ales would make this place perfect. They have regular live music. Sometimes a bit off the wall, but always good fun.
A spit and sawdust, down to earth kind of place with eclectic vintage bits and bobs in the pub area, but with very comfortable rooms right in the heart of Whitstable and a stone's throw from the beach. Would definitely recommend and will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShaRoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from 2 night stay. Room fresh and clean. Only ate breakfast at hotel which was one of the best full english we have ever had, enormous, you wont need to eat again until the evening! The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome, how refreshing. Would not hesitate to recommend and return again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindseygarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a friend, on arrival we had a very friendly greeting from the manager. Unfortunately, the room we were given was the only one in the hotel which had not been decorated so it was a little bit dated and needed freashening up, but the bathroom was great and all very clean. The breakfast in the monring was very nice and set us up for the day.

The Hotel is very honest about the level of noise and it is very loud until about 1am (on a Friday night) so I think I would recommend this hotel to groups of young guests, but possibly not for families or older guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,186 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Situated literally in the middle of the high street, this is a big pub with some interesting architectural features and half a dozen decent rooms. There is a comfortable decking area for eating and drinking outside, the beers are well kept and the furniture is eclectic, a collection of odd chairs and tables but none the worse for that. The rooms are clean and comfortable if in need of a little bit more attention to detail, no remote for the TV, peeling wall paper for example. Staff are friendly and the cooked breakfast was very nice. Would definately return if we were in the area but check first if they have live music in case you were hoping for a quiet night.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
443 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
6.6 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
6.0 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel
Address: Duke of Cumberland High Street, Whitstable CT5 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big, bustling public house, hotel and restaurant in the centre of Whitstable, right next to Harbour Street and a stone's throw from the beach. Now incorporating Salt Marsh restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing