We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Valentine, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The room was very nice and we had a good sleep. The hosts were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was huge and good. The room amenities which included a hot pot to prepare the provided tea, hot chocolate and coffee were complete. The only caveat...the hotel is at the intersection of two small but busy streets so if you are not an early riser ask for an upper floor maybe or the quietest room. Our room had a lovely view of two small quaint steets in Whitstable but activity started pretty early. Worked for us. The harbor and docks are just a couple of blocks and the area has many restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane and D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    10
    8
    5
See reviews for
7
52
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

this is a very nice place to stay very clean rooms and they think of everything that you might need for an over night stay, tea and coffee with biscuits in the room hair dryer all shampoo conditioner body wash, tv and it also does a great breakfast all in the price, this my second stay here and would go back again the manager tony is a very nice man

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

After reading the reviews on here I was slightly anxious about this hotel. However I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff seem to have a very hands off approach, the check in took about 1 minute and was very calm and relaxed. We were told that the check out was 11am but they said that as it was very quiet that it wasn't very strict. The hotel is above a pub, which although we could hear the music when we went to bed, wasn't unpleasant, and the fact that we could just wander downstairs for a drink was very convenient. It wasn't the most luxurious hotel in the world but very comfortable and relaxed and reasonably priced (£80 for a standard double room)

The next morning we had the breakfast which was very nice and enjoyable and relaxed. The pub is right in the heart of the highstreet, so central that we initially missed it! It is about 30 seconds from the harbour which is beautiful and the weather was lovely. The town is lovely and we had an excellent time, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was a standard double, very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Celebrated New Years Eve there. Had the best new years we`ve had for many years!
Live Bands were terrific...catered for all tastes and ages.
Staff were fast but still very friendly.
Looking forward to next year Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemarieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

stayed here for one night (Fri 23rd Nov) I did not expect too much....just needed a bed to crash for the night.
Had a particularly boozy night with some mates... I could not fault the place...The bar staff were always polite & attentive. I think he was the landlord who could not have been more polite & helpful
The room was clean & the shower powerful. I did not expect to be asked "what would you like for breakfast?" It seems that nothing would have been too much trouble! We opted for a full English& very full it was too! The coffee was quite possibly the best I have ever had.
The band ( Cut The Funk) on Friday night were great as were the patrons...a good mix of all ages & all appeared to have a great evening.. I highly recommend this place as a place to stay and have a good night out.. Thank you Duke of Cumberland .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emlioy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked our room in the morning of the day we stayed because we realised we had booked a room at the wrong location! Even at such short notice, nothing was a bother.

The manager who's name escapes me (sorry) took our bags up to the room and upgraded us to a bigger double as opposed to the standard smaller double we had booked.

The room was huge and had a sofa in it too. I could suggest a full length mirror to be put in the room as two girls getting ready for a wedding need lots of mirrors!

The light in the room was great, and the bed was comfortable.

They cooked us breakfast to cure our hangovers and I can honestly say it was the best breakfast I've ever had. The manager kept making me tea as well which was lovely :)

Thank you for making our weekend so easy and comfortable. Sorry we were so drunk when we got back, and thank you for looking after us!

Tash and Emily, room 6! x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

i stayed here and it was a great place to stay right in the center of whitstable , the breakfast was super and the room was spotless en suite with nice soft towels , with tea and coffee making in your room and a television would stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
1.7 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
15.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel
Address: Duke of Cumberland High Street, Whitstable CT5 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big, bustling public house, hotel and restaurant in the centre of Whitstable, right next to Harbour Street and a stone's throw from the beach. Now incorporating Salt Marsh restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing