We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

stayed here for one night (Fri 23rd Nov) I did not expect too much....just needed a bed to crash for the night.
Had a particularly boozy night with some mates... I could not fault the place...The bar staff were always polite & attentive. I think he was the landlord who could not have been more polite & helpful
The room was clean & the shower powerful. I did not expect to be asked "what would you like for breakfast?" It seems that nothing would have been too much trouble! We opted for a full English& very full it was too! The coffee was quite possibly the best I have ever had.
The band ( Cut The Funk) on Friday night were great as were the patrons...a good mix of all ages & all appeared to have a great evening.. I highly recommend this place as a place to stay and have a good night out.. Thank you Duke of Cumberland .

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Emlioy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 110 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked our room in the morning of the day we stayed because we realised we had booked a room at the wrong location! Even at such short notice, nothing was a bother.

The manager who's name escapes me (sorry) took our bags up to the room and upgraded us to a bigger double as opposed to the standard smaller double we had booked.

The room was huge and had a sofa in it too. I could suggest a full length mirror to be put in the room as two girls getting ready for a wedding need lots of mirrors!

The light in the room was great, and the bed was comfortable.

They cooked us breakfast to cure our hangovers and I can honestly say it was the best breakfast I've ever had. The manager kept making me tea as well which was lovely :)

Thank you for making our weekend so easy and comfortable. Sorry we were so drunk when we got back, and thank you for looking after us!

Tash and Emily, room 6! x

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

i stayed here and it was a great place to stay right in the center of whitstable , the breakfast was super and the room was spotless en suite with nice soft towels , with tea and coffee making in your room and a television would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is an odd ball, hippy chic pub in the centre of town, serving good beer and great food. We have stayed twice and will probably stay again. location is great, but noisy, as it is in the centre of town and everything goes past it.

The management and staff are superb. As they do say on their website, it is above a pub that does do music, so expect to hear the noise in your room if you go to bead early!

the cost is reasonable, the rooms are fresh and clean, and the bed was comfortable.

I recommend it if you are a sound sleeper, or join in with the fun.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelmontGuestH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, a Friday and Thursday Initial impression of shabby stair carpeting, stale beer smell, old light fittings and a general run down appearance. Very warm greeting by staff, especially the guy who looked as though he'd been a roadie for Led Zep and had jumped the tour at Whitstable for health reasons. We were shown to room 3. Small, clean enough, with a "view" of a brick wall, dead flowers and pool of dirty rain water. Bed linen was crisp and clean, shower very efficient but very old, same with the table lights - won't mention the main light! After a heavy night in Wheelers we fell asleep immediately. 3 hours later woken at first by the sash window banging loudly in the wind,shut it. Rest of night kept awake by an unidentified buzz. Complained to our new friend at breakfast ( which was exceptionally good, and immense - roadies like it that way ) and he could not possibly have been more understanding and apologetic. Spent 2nd night in room 6. Chalk and cheese. Large, much more modern, great views all round and very light. Returned on the Fri night and band was just finishing up in main area of pub , everyone obviously had a great night, pissed but very friendly pissed including ourselves! Retired at 12.45 by which time pub was silent and we enjoyed a great nights sleep. Next mornings breakfast once again brilliant and staff extra friendly and hospitable. So, when staying at the Duke remember that it is a very popular pub and not a boutique hotel, and a slight tattiness and Boho atmosphere reflects this fact. Choose one of the rooms looking down the high street and get up for breakfast ! Finally, despite refusing my drunken pleading for " Sweet Home Alabama" to be played at top volume at 12.30 on the Fri night I must say that we were very happy that the breakfast cook and mine host extraordinaire decided on his career move. Shepherd Neame - you've got some great staff at the Duke , thank you all.

Room Tip: We discovered a mysterious buzzing in room 3 and asked to move for the second night. Staff could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barfieldlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent one night in The Duke of Cumberland and thoroughly enjoyed it. The building itself was a little shabby, but the friendly staff more than compensate for this. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable and the breakfast was FANTASTIC! The chef uses very fine quality, locally produced bacon and sausages and they are truly delicious. The mushrooms were not just ordinary mushrooms, but really tasty field mushrooms. The tomatoes were grilled with a sprig of rosemary. All freshly cooked to order with very generous portions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becclesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night and was not disappointed. The location was perfect and the the room was clean and comfortable. The staff were really friendly and even invited us for a drink at a private wedding when the pub was closed to the public. The breakfast was excellent and made to order. I would definately stay here again;

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmonkey000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitstable hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
487 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
934 reviews
1 mi away
Ampersand House Bed & Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Hillview
Hillview
#1 of 12 in Whitstable
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel

Address: Duke of Cumberland High Street, Whitstable CT5 1AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range: $84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A big, bustling public house, hotel and restaurant in the centre of Whitstable, right next to Harbour Street and a stone's throw from the beach. Now incorporating Salt Marsh restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Cumberland Hotel Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing