We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“day at bowling in whitstable”

MFA Bowl Whitstable
Ranked #2 of 2 Fun & Games in Whitstable
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“day at bowling in whitstable”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

had a great time last night bowling at whitstable my son and a few of his friends also ate a meal there and staff couldnt have been more helpful definately going again ths weekend cant wait but you have to book up as it is always busy

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank stefno b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    12
    5
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
medway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Grime. a disgrace.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Grime grime and more grime. Don't take anyone there that you want to impress. This is the most grimy run down venue you could possibly imagine. Dirty floors doors and tables. The chairs are threadbare. Staff are totally not interested and your treated like your an inconvenience to them. The machines breakdown regularly. The shoes they insist you ware are dirty and disgustingly old and worn. There are very few light bowling balls and when I enquire if there were more I was told I'd have to make do. The ramps for young people to use are bent. There was some tuition going on by one of the coaches who behaviour towards his students was inappropriate as he was shouting at them like he was coaching football not guiding young people. We did not eat here. The food was prepared and presented by the nearest member of staff who went from handing out shoes and dealing with money to the kitchen. The coffee was the worst I have ever had. On composing I was told they know that it is. That I should have ordered the more expensive coffee from the " other machine" come on local council close it down. It stinks. It lets you down big time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank theworldwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Toilets are filthy and never cleaned”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were there for over 2 hours, as soon as we arrived we complained about the dirty toilets. No handwash, bins overflowing and one blocked toilet. This was the ladies, god only knows what the mens was like. Not once did they go and clean them. With kids parties and people coming and going all the time this is a place where the winter vomiting bug could easily spread. Bearing this in mind the bowling was good but I would not eat there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessa1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WORST PLACE EVER, USELESS MANGER, OVERALL RUBBISH SERVICE”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

So they buggered up our booking shall i say the manger did!, went last night, booked well in advance for my daughter 6th birthday party, 1st time i called was told no we dont do kids parties on a Saturday after speaking with my sister she said what a load of rubbish so i re-rang a few days later spoke to the manger "SHARON" she was helpful at the time saying you will get better value for your money if you booked the 90 mins of bowling £90 ok i said we are having food prob hotdogs & burger, shall i get everyones order & let you know as your menu is online "no she said thats fine just tell us when you come in" " ok i said great thank you" also asked about cake etc.. she booked 3 lanes for us, upon arriving there was 2 party tables set out presumming 1 was for all of us as there was 12 of us had lanes 4,5 & 6, lane 4 broke so many times spent most of the time fixing it than playing, lane 5 was not adding up the scores & lane 6 kept missing pins plus also not adding up the score so £90 for that is crap if you ask me!!!, so it came up & said 5 mins remaining so i went upto the desk to see what table was ours, 1 party table had already sat down & left other had everyone elses coats on it so i said to him is that our table yes he said thats yours everyone elses coats our on it i said not ours ???, oh hes goes the 2 dopey looking young lads who looked like they didnt give a care in the world, looks in the book yes your booked in but not for f=a party just for normal bowling " who did you speak to he ask when you phoned" " Sharon i said" he goes " oh shes the manger" other young boys says " shes useless you just cant get the staff these days" other lad says " ill go talk to my other manger" (Who was sitting out the back!) not even coming out he left it all down to the other lad who thens tells me " oh the table already set up is for that party who was still playing & only just started, the kitchen is doing there food, by this time our games had finished he started going on about how we will have to hang around for 1hr before we can even put a order in for food by this time my husband came up & said what if we ordered 11 hot dogs will that be quicker? "no hes goes wait a hr then put your order in" both young lads shrugging their shoulders going well you just cant get the staff they didnt even say sorry!!! so they expected us the wait 1hr and half for food in the end, there was another empty table which we could of all sat on but was not offered this, we told them dont bother your useless you have messed up our booking, dont have a care in the world with 6 adults & 5 kids as you can imagine we were not impressed as my daughter had been looking forward to this for ages, we finally got our cakes back as they couldnt find them, in the end we drove 14 miles up the road to mcdonalds were it was jammed packed we went in explained what bowling had done the manger was on the floor dont worry we will sort everything out for you, she made up a table for us, took all our orders, bought the kids out bollens, done her cake with loads candles the whole team came out singing happy birthday the my daughter was super inpressed by how they done everything for us next time mcdonalds birthday party or bowling "ELSEWHERE" NOT WHISTABLE as for the the 2 gooney looking young lads as the bowling centre who just kept saying "dont know" shugging their shoulders "cant get the staff" what the hell is wrong with these people, would not even go there to do a family day bowling as all the lanes like to break!, as well as it was filthy & didnt even get a sorry really peed off with them!! so overall £90 for broken lanes, lost of cakes, dopey looking staff, no food & manger hiding out the back complete nightmare service

You also have to pay for parking also to add we booked for 5pm couldnt get on any lanes until 5.45pm

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kentishtowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant for kids birthday parties”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from our daughters birthday party, the staff were brilliant, the food for the kids great, the atmosphere was perfect made a party for 8 seven year olds a great experience. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jfielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MFA Bowl Whitstable also viewed

Whitstable, Kent
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to MFA Bowl Whitstable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing