We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay, shame about the bed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitstable
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts
Ranked #2 of 12 Whitstable B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay, shame about the bed”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This is our third stay in the fisherman's huts, each time in a different hut. The location is fantastic and despite the cold and wind, you always feel cosy. Breakfast at the hotel is fine. The Forge is brilliant to have on your doorstep, doughnuts, oysters, beer!
The only pity was the upstairs double bed in hut two which is really uncomfortable. Lots of springs, not a lot of sleep! We'll be back again though!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wennine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks for coming a third time. I shall look into the mattess in hut 2 and change it if necessary then you can come and try it!!
See you again soon
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    115
    23
    13
    8
See reviews for
97
196
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in hut 1 on the 29th Dec 2013, it was very clean, warm and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in.
Even though the room is on a bed and breakfast basis, I really liked that wine, champagne glasses were in the room and deck chairs were available (not that we needed them in December).
The breakfast is available at the Hotel Continental which is about half a mile away.
I would suggest if you are a light sleeper, take some ear plugs as it can be noisy with the boats and cars driving on the gravel paths which surround the huts.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
great that you enjoyed your stay in hut 1. If you want we can always put wine or champagne in the room for your arrival. The quieter huts are probably 14,11,10 8 and 9 but the car parking may not directly be in front of the hut then.
thanks james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed in hut 11 between Christmas and New Year.

The hut was lovely - characterful, toasty warm, and spotlessly clean.

The huts are on the sea wall, down a quiet side street but only 1 minute's walk from pubs, restaurants, and shops

Hut 11 has a full kitchen which we used to warm up food we had bought. The kitchen is modern but there are some puzzling ommissions in the equipment. No backing trays / anything else to use in the oven. No bowls / containers to use in the microwave. And only 2 sets of cutlery for a hut that is advertised as suitable for 4. Odd.

Other than that, it was great. PIty the weather was so rubbish but we felt all warm and snug in our little hut

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CurrySpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
hi
glad you were cosy and warm in the hut. Thanks for bringing the lack of kitchen equipment in the hut to our attention-I shall resolve this asap!!
thanks for coming and see you again soon
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edwards
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a fab time and were impressed with the huts, they were clean and warm. Breakfast was good and thank you James for the book. A very enjoyable couple of days. We stayed in hut 1 which was large and stylish, my parents said the bathroom was the best they had ever had on holiday. We stayed in hut 10, amazing views from upstairs bedroom. I recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Great that you had such a great time -hope to see you again soon.
Thanks james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Hut 14 in the Continental Hotel's converted fisherman's hut option was far and away better than I ever expected. Not everything was perfect or like Canada, but this is a converted fisherman's hut on the coast in England.
Ceiling height was a bit challenging for me at 6 feet, particularly in the stair well.
We stayed one night in November with the wind blowing and the sea running to about 5 foot waves. My wife and I were snug in the double bed with a great heater and a gorgeous view of the ocean. In addition Hut 14 does not have WiFi or a telephone since the phone company hasn't been round to the newest hut yet. As a communications addict, my plea is that you do not install such devices. It could ruin a great evening.
In the morning, the weather had calmed and the included full English breakfast was great way to end a morning walk to the restaraunt. We did not have any dietary issues, but the staff are willing to go the extra mile if you let them know what you need.
The only suggestion I could make is that a bedside table with a lamp on it would have been a nice addition since getting out of bed to turn the wall switch proved to be a bit invigorating since I had the heat turned down on that cool November night.
One other point North Americans should be aware of is that face cloths are not always part of the bathroom linens provided. We have been traveling with our own for years.
This fisherman's hut rental is one we are going to use again and we have no qualms about recommending it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesRenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks for the review. If you ask when booking reception will be glad to inform you which huts are suitable for the taller customers. Please be aware that hut 14 is still at the moment without wifi as we are having issues getting a new phone line installed. Bedside lamp now installed.
cheers james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome from staff at the hotel on booking in and clear instructions to the huts. We had a lovely couple of nights in hut 8. It was brilliant that our 2 dogs could come too. Lovely huts, clean tidy, huge comfortable bed. The boats chinking aid restful sleep. The view is fantastic and you can't get any closer to the beach.
We loved the walk to breakfast takes about 10 mins depending if you are sidetracked by watching the harbour sights. The dogs can come for breakfast too as long as you sit in the bar. Scrambled eggs cooked fresh on request. The breakfast staff were all warm and friendly. On the walk home past the little harbour village shops opening up and unexpectedly achieved Christmas shopping just from walking for breakfast. H
Free wife and iPod Dock. Lots of coffee sachets, 3types of tea bags and hot chocolate. The corkscrew was welcome.
Just a couple of niggles, chipped mugs and plates from our takeaway not taken away or washed as no facilities to wash them yourselves. We reported the wet floor in the bathroom.
Overall a lovely break in a fabulous location. We will be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank peppercairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
hi
thanks for taking the time to post a comment. Huts 6,7,8 and nine are dog friendly so ask for these if you want to bring your favourite pet. The mugs have been replaced! Hope to see you again
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The location's fantastic with breathtaking sunsets and yummy lobster & chips at the Forge. The hut was lovely, if a bit tight for head space for my 6'2" partner. No bedside lights, although I read in an earlier review that this had been taken care of. The bath towels were tiny but got bigger on the last day and the maid skipped a visit on the second day. Breakfast was good and made us get out and have an early walk to the Hotel each morning. Weather was warm and sunny at the start, but as soon as the cold wind got up, the heating was on and we were really snug. Love Whitstable and its delightful Fisherman's Huts.

Room Tip: Not for the very tall or anyone with less than excellent mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james g, Owner at Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
hi
glad you had a great time, if you are tall or restricted in mobility please don't hesitate to call reception to find out which huts will be suitable for you
thanks for coming
james
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitstable
1.9 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#4 of 4 in Whitstable
440 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Canterbury Whitstable
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
725 reviews
15.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts

Property: Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts
Address: Sea Wall, Whitstable, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Whitstable
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whitstable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These Fisherman's Huts have been tastefully converted to provide a variety of overnight accommodation, most with sea views, in a very central location ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental - Fisherman Huts Whitstable, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing