We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You MUST try this place!”

East Coast Dining Room
Ranked #5 of 127 Restaurants in Whitstable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just 5 minutes from the beaches of Whitstable, the EAST COAST DINING ROOM is serving outstanding food and drink in a comfortable and unique setting.
Isle of Thanet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You MUST try this place!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Notice from the list that there isn't one "terrible" rating?! That in itself should tell you something. Its a little gem that isn't that well known about, however, I guarantee if you visit this restaurant, you'll be wondering why it isn't packed out every night. The food is beyond fabulous, the Chef is truly talented. In fact, the 2nd or 3rd time that I visited (can't remember as I've been quite a few times as fell in love with the food) I asked the waitress if she would pass on my marriage proposal to the Chef. I know, that's crackers and he's spoken for anyway, but I can't praise this restaurant enough, the food is divine. Such high quality, well presented, well cooked and a very pleasing experience all round. You really MUST try this place, you'll fall in love I'm sure. And this coming from someone who's quite a foodie at heart, who's eaten at the very best that Vegas has to offer, so take my word for it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    56
    22
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“well worth finding, lovely food and friendly service.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had a terrific meal, one of the nicest whitstable and tankerton has to offer. A very warm welcome and quite charming service, I enjoyed a delicious pork belly starter with lamb rack for main, my wife had scallops and duck to follow which was also cooked to perfection. In my opinion this restaurant deserves to be packed out on a friday. It's not shouty or overly trendy with the in crowd like so many try hard whitstable establishments. It is tucked away on the high street in tankerton and you could easily drive past it. You get a great meal and service at a price which beats the town tourist traps hands down.The food and service speak for themselves and I'll be back to try some more lovely dishes ASAP

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimeyWimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Set price so you know what the bill will be”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Plenty of good choices for starters , mains and WOW puds.
We selected the 3 course option but could have gone just for 2.
Four of us ,all choose something different and all of us insisted we had had the best meals.
Quiet quirky service from the owner? Non intrusive and considerate.
We have recommended it and will go back.
Great tasting well presented food at very affordable set prices. Yummy
Oh cash or cheques only but you are told this on reserving.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KENTTRAVELLERAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant value for money. Tasty well presented high quality food.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This restaurant is definitely worth a visit if you live or are staying in the Whitstable area. Tankerton is a short stroll along the seafront from Whitstable or you can park for free in the high street.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whitstable's Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This restaurant on Tankerton's High Street is fantastic - go try it! Service was great and the food was fabulous. This is one of Whitstable's best restaurants in terms of quality and presentation of food as well as value for money. Highly recommended and I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Coast Dining Room also viewed

Whitstable, Kent
Whitstable, Kent
 
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to East Coast Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing